Broadchurch

Last night I finally decided to watch Broadchurch, the acclaimed and highly talked about, ITV drama, about the murder of a young boy in a small town and the efforts from the police to find the killer.

Ep08_01

Let’s just say that I got hooked from the moment they show young Danny on top of that cliff, then, I watched all 8 episodes in a row… Wow, apart from the point that the story is fantastic, the direction is stellar and the writing is off the charts. You get interested in all of the characters, even knowing that one of them is a child killer.

broadchurch

Leading the show is none other than the brilliant David Tennant (and don’t worry, he doesn’t look that good on purpose) and Olivia Colman, who play the two lead investigators on the case. Jodie Whittaker, Andrew Buchan, Matthew Gravelle, Jonathan Bailey, David Bradley and Arthur Darvill are just some of the actors that compose the great cast. I found David Bradley’s character particularly touching.

broadchurch

Broadchurch will be back for a second season, when it is not yet known. In the meantime, Fox has announced that a remake of the british drama is on the making, with David Tennant reprising his role as DI Hardy in the American drama renamed as Gracepoint. When the first season of Gracepoint and the second of Broadchurch will air is still undetermined, but poor David, he’s going to have a hell of a year!

I’m more than ever a fan of Mr David Tennant and his sexy scottish accent (that causes me to not understand half of what he says….)! Arthur Darvill can be hot even when he’s playing a vicar… damn you Rory Williams!

Broadchurch_S1_Ep06_022_2048x1024_24541652

If you haven’t watched this amazing series yet, go for it! It’s one of the best dramas I ever saw… and I watch a lot of TV! The killer was the last person I would have thought, literally the last person! =| If I hadn’t read all the spoilers before I started to watched the show, I would have been seriously shocked. 

6 thoughts on “Broadchurch

  1. chorenn says:

    I recommend watching it twice. The second time through, when you know how everyone’s storyline plays out, you can see how their characters develop, and it’s just brilliant. I’m looking forward to watching it a third time sometime soon.

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      Sure will, mainly because sometimes their dialogue just got a little lost on me (given that english is not my first language and that David Tennant accent is really thick!).

      I also want to watch it again to try to capture any sign in the killer, although I’m not sure they’re any…

      • chorenn says:

        I’m American, so I can sympathize with not understanding David Tennant’s accent! I’m getting better at it, though!

        I don’t think there are any overt signs, but the killer does look nervous at some points, but on first viewing, you probably chalked it up to the general horror of the situation in the town.

        • MyTinyObsessions says:

          I always knew it was him, because I had read all the spoilers and recaps. But there was only one moment, and I think it was on ep. 6 or 7, when Miller says that she’s starting to distrust everyone, that’s the first time I notice that he could be a little nervous. Other than that, I saw nothing… and for one that claims what he did, the love and so on, it’s kind of weird.

          I was so used to Tennant’s “normal british” accent from DW, that it was a real shock (good one though) to hear the very scottish accent he has.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.