Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like Kick-@ss Female Heroines

Hello, it’s Tuesday again, which means it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday post, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is:

Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author (ie: you could list 10 different popular/bestselling books or authors with readalike suggestions for each or give 10 books for one best-selling/popular book or author like 10 authors to read if you like John Green or ten books to read if you like Gone Girl. Idea is to give good readalikes that may be less well known).

Top Ten Tuesday

I was struggling with this one a lot! I don’t usually make connections between authors or books and i couldn’t come up with anything more than 5 book, no matter which combination I tried. So, after contemplating not doing it this week, I decided to spin it a bit and make it a theme instead of an author or book. So, Ten Books To Read If You Like Kick-@ss Female Heroines! I’m sorry before hand for totally missing the goal of this week’s topic…

1. Throne of Glass Series (Sarah J. Maas)

throne of glass

This series is full of gorgeous, super strong women. Such as Aelin, Nehemia, Lysandra, Manon, …, I love how strong, powerful and human they all are.

2. The Wrath & The Dawn (Renée Ahdieh)

Shahrzad is one of my favorite female character ever. Despina is pretty bad-@ss herself.

3. The One Thing (Marci Lyn Curtis)

Maggie is so strong and sassy! I love the hell out of her.

4. The Infernal Devices (Cassandra Clare)

Tessa Gray, Charlotte Fairchild, Sophie Collins, Cecily Herondale. These four ladies are worth several men!

5. Eleanor & Park (Rainbow Rowell)

Eleanor is a different kind of strong female character. She doesn’t fight or anything, but she managed to survive some awful situations and still manage to live.

6. Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling)

Hermione Granger is on everyone’s mind when we think of kick-@ss women, right? But I’ll raise you Molly Weasley, Minerva Mcgonagall, Nymphadora Tonks, Luna Lovegood, Ginny Weasley, Alice Longbottom, …

7. A Clash of Kings (George R. R. Martin)

One name for you: Aria Stark. Sure, this series has other female heroines, such as Daenerys, but Aria is my favorite.

8. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)

Chiyo goes through some bad stuff throughout her life…

9. The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

It’s not because Katniss is broken that she stops being freaking amazing.

10. My Heart and Other Black Holes (Jasmine Warga)

 I really admire Aysel. Yes, the only thing she wants in the beginning is to end her life, but she goes through a big transformation and goes because of it. She makes my list!

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like Kick-@ss Female Heroines

  1. Trisha Ann says:

    Oh my gosh yes! Aria Stark is such a badass heroine! (Wow! You read Clash of Kings! Can’t even finish the first book so my only reference is from TV!) She’s my favorite Stark girl!

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      I finished the second… after reading it for more than a year, i thought I would never finish it.

      I made a vow to myself, that I would only watch the show after I finished the books. So, I read the first pretty quickly and saw season 1. Then I started the second and it took me forever! But I did and watched season 2. So much as changed that I’m still stucked in the first chapter of book 3 (for 2 years or so), and I haven’t watched since either… 😦

      Aria is the best!

  2. CJ Dawn says:

    I think this is a great list! While I’ve read most of the books on this list, there are a few I haven’t, particularly Memoirs of a Geisha. I’ve been wanting to get to that one for a while. My TTT

  3. Anette says:

    Great list! I couldn’t come up with anything good for this week for the same reason as you so I skipped it.

    I’m reading Eleanor & Park right now and I already love Eleanor. 😀

  4. Lois says:

    I’ve been wanting to get my hands on The Wrath and the Dawn for so long now. Katniss’ determination is something I’ve always admired and I love that Eleanor is on the list cause she has to put up with a lot and she still comes out on top. Great list.

  5. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    When I read My Heart and Other Black Holes I was also surprised by how strong Aysel was as well. I think choosing not to end your life and saving somebody else requires so much strength! I love that you included her on your list 🙂

    I’ve seen the movie adaptation of Memoirs of a Geisha but I have yet to read the book. It’s one of those books that I’ve always wanted to read but never got around to. Hopefully I can pick it up sometime in the next year.

  6. Josephine says:

    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ALL OF THESE! (Well most of them) Of course Celaena is a kick butt heroine and so is Shazi, Arya and so the others. I love how you added in Eleanor to the mix because although different, she’s so strong!
    And a little heads up, I think you spelt “heroines” wrong in the beginning of your post!
    Wonderful picks this week Cristina! 💋❤

  7. Sajda says:

    I’ve read nearly all of these except for The One Thing and My Heart and Other Black Holes. I love that you included non-fantasy book heroines because sometimes it’s so easy to forget that kick-ass heroines exist in contemporary as well. Great post!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.