Top Ten Tuesday: People… Chill!

top 10 tuesday

It’s tuesday again! Here we go for another Top Ten Tuesday 😀 , a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is:

Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit (aka ten book series I think I’m going to abandon, ten bookish habits I want to quit, ten authors I quit reading, ten types of books I’m quitting, ten tropes I want to stop reading about, ten books I marked as DNF (did not finish) recently, etc. Get as creative as you want)

Once again, I was coming at a loss about what to write this week, mostly because I don’t usually start series that I don’t want to finish, I usually don’t quit authors (yet), or I definitely do not want to quits my bookish habits. So, with that in mind, and all the emotions present from my latest read – Queen of Shadows if you’re wondering – I decided to point out some stuff that we (book bloggers/reviewers) need to chill about.


1. Do Not Be Disrespectful

I do not care if you didn’t like certain aspects of a book, if someone has a different opinion than yours, or if you don’t like a certain author… you can criticize all you like, but do not be disrespectful, please.

2. Stop dissing the troupes

I know people, we all get sick of some sometimes, some love triangles are unnecessary, some forbidden loves are cringe worthy, lost princesses, the chosen ones, the whole thing, sometimes it’s a bit much. But you know what? They work! And the only times we complaint about them is when they are not well executed. So, don’t blame the troupes!

3. You don’t know better than the Author

You know what’s the biggest advantage of a book in regards to a tv show or movie? The author, a.k.a., the creator, is actually the one to carry along the storyline of every single character. They know their characters, and you know what? They are the one who know them best… yeah, that’s right… them, not us!

4. Ponder the Hype Train

Hype is good. It promotes good books, good authors, it reaches all of us. But we should ponder more carefully on these hyped books: “Am I really enjoying it this much? Or all of those positive reviews are influencing my opinion of it?“. It also works the other way around: “With all the hype, I thought it would be FANTASTIC, but it’s just good, so… lower rating.”. I think we all fall a bit with this one, maybe it’s inevitable.

 5. Your ship sunk, so what?!

Ok, maybe this one is directed by the Throne of Glass fandom – sorry! But a book or series should always be about more than your ship. Who cares if Katniss ends up with Peeta and not Gale? (so many more examples I could introduce…but I won’t). Does it make that book worse because of that?

6. Be honest

I hardly give low ratings to books, but that’s not because I’m not capable of it, it has been more because I have so many books behind that I want to read, that I mostly pick those with a high rating on Goodreads. But we should not be afraid to give a low rating, honesty is important.

7. Easy on those comparisons

It’s pretty hard for a book to be 100% original, every idea comes from somewhere, something that is already out there. But we can try to view each book on itself without the need to compare it to another, just because they are the same genre, or have a similar character, etc.

8. Comparisons II

Now about your blog. If you’re reading this you’re most likely a book blogger. So, to you I say, stop comparing your blog to others. Do your thing, be happy about it.

9. ARC envy! Don’t even!

Just don’t! I know it’s hard, seeing all those beautiful ARCs and wishing you had some…. Damn, I wish I had some too. But do not envy them, ever. If you don’t get them, you don’t, it’s all good. Ok?

10. Do not apologize!

On a lighter tone, your blog is your space. Do what you want, say what you need. If you need a break, take it. If you need to rage, do. But you should never have to apologize for being you!

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: People… Chill!

  1. CJ Dawn says:

    I am definitely guilty of all of these. Frequently. Though I would argue that Katniss ending up with Peeta did ruin the book for me, not because I wanted her to be with Gale (I actually love Peeta), but because of the way it happened. Though I guess that has less to do with ships and more to do with Collins’ writing.

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      I’m guilty of some myself 😉

      yes, I think it has to do with the writing and not the ship. The ending has to be written well enough to justify it. I am team Peeta, and I thought the ending was a bit weird

  2. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    This is such an amazing post! I really love your blog so much and in turn cannot stop reading all of your posts. I look forward to reading more from you!

  3. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    Great post! You are so right about all of these. It’s definitely something people need to keep in mind more often when we interact in the book community and/or read. And something I’ll remember when I finally read Queen of Shawdows haha

  4. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I am definitely guilty of hating on love triangles. I just did it in my last post, actually. If it helps at all, I avoid books where that seems to be a central theme these days, so I have less to complain about.

  5. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    I love this post Cristina! It’s so insightful. I totally agree with the point you made about being honest and being yourself. There are so many people who don’t give out ratings lower than 3 because they feel bad, but if you really didn’t like the book why not just say so? I understand that you might feel that giving a 1 star is disrespectful to the author but if the book wasn’t for you, then it wasn’t for you.

  6. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Oh my gosh, this is a wonderful post, Cristina! Something I struggle with-not exactly that I don’t do it but rather I don’t want to-is the honesty one. It’s so hard to give low ratings because I always feel so bad about it… but it’s important to be true to oneself. 🙂

  7. Melanie Noell Bernard says:

    Ah! This was fantastic! I love how everyone does the TTT a little different from each other. It’s always fun to read and I like this one! I’m new to blogging. So this was really great to read and I agree that people need to chill on their reviews because the few that I’ve read have been kind of harsh on the book and the author. That’s not cool. A lot goes into books and reviews aren’t designed to critique it. They’re there to point out what worked well and comment on what the reader didn’t like, but some reviewers seem to trash books. Not cool!

  8. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts says:

    The sad fact is that tropes are the building blocks of books — can’t [always] live with em, can’t live without. But in terms of your comment regarding not knowing the characters, the caveat is that if it’s not written in a way that provokes a particular understanding, then readers can’t totally be faulted for leaning towards one nuanced characteristic that may (or may not) hold true. It’s all [mostly] interpretation, right?

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      True about the tropes, but some keep US talking about the books longer. They work…

      Yeah, you’re right, if it’s left to interpretation, sure. But the fact remains that the author knows them best, even if we don’t agree with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

