Something in the Air (Marie Landry)

something

Her life hasn’t gone as planned, but she’s about to realize that sometimes the best things happen when you stop expecting life to be a certain way…

When Rose Morgan put off her college plans to help her mother through a difficult time, she thought it would just be a bump in the road of her journey. She got a job to help pay the bills and started picking up the slack at home. But three years later, her bumpy ride hasn’t smoothed out yet, and Rose feels stuck. She’s working at a job she hates and living with a manipulative mother. She’s tired of feeling like her life has stalled, tired of the resentment and anger building inside her with each passing day.

Then Declan Connelly appears in her life, and even though the hot Irishman is seriously tempting, Rose is determined not to let him in. She’s afraid to suck anyone into her bizarre life, especially someone who seems too charming for his own good. She soon learns there’s more to Declan than his sexy accent and charismatic personality, though. He’s a good man, and he wants Rose in his life, baggage and all. He’s got his own, and he isn’t scared away like she originally feared he would be.

Everything in Rose’s life is changing quickly. It’s finally her time–time to figure out what she wants and what her future holds. Time to get swept off her feet and not fight it. But when her plans might take her away from all the amazing new things in her life, including Declan, Rose has to make a choice. Is she willing to chase her dreams, even if it means letting go of love?


I was expecting to like this book a lot more than I actually did, and my problem was that I didn’t connect with most of the characters. This review will contain mild SPOILERS, sorry for that.

I really empathised with Rose’s situation, and while she was at home and had to deal with all the manipulation her mom did, I felt really bad for her. One thing I loved was her friendship with Dante, in fact, Dante was my favorite character of all of them. I liked that they were best friends and that nothing romantic ever went on with them. But I’ll tell you this: at one point in the book, when Dante starts acting weird, I actually thought they would go there, but nop 😉 .

Once Rose meets Declan and they start dating, things go way too fast. I don’t mean “oh, they went to bed too quickly”, no, I mean “omg, what do you mean? you’re moving in with the guy you’re dating after 2 dates?”. Yes, it happened. Ok, so they agree to be roommates, and they actually wait a long while to have sex, but still… It ends up kind of working for their relationship, given that the main focus of this book is not their romance, but Rose coming to her own and discovering what she wants to do.

As I said, I didn’t connect with the characters all that much. Rose was ok, but that was just it, ok. Declan, I really wanted to swoon over Declan, but I couldn’t. And mind you, my mental picture of him is something like this:

I’m assuming my mind created this mental image because of the amount of times that Declan says “aye” in this book, which is something that Sam Heughan says a lot in Outlander. And the curls, maybe those influenced as well. But still, Declan felt like a generic bad boy turned good, in love for the first time. He was super ok, but didn’t make my heart flutter. Sam Heughan however, totally does!

While I felt that Rose’s character did go through a good character development, and also felt that the initial situation could not have reached that critical level, so it was hard for me to connect that much. Also, I’m all for following your dreams, but I felt that she was more hell bent on proving to herself and her mom that she was not a settler, than actually realizing what to do with her life. But hey, that ok, she’s only 20.

I liked the writing, it flowed well and was easy to follow. This was also a very fast read.

I did have some troubles with the plot, and apart from the main characters, this is where my problems lay. I’ll tell you again, there will be SPOILERS here.

First of all, I felt that the situation with her father was totally ludicrous, because we live in the 21st century. I found it unbelievable that father and daughter wouldn’t have each others cell phones, and just the landline numbers – even with Rose’s mom manipulating the situation. Maybe it’s because it has been more than a decade since I actually called my dad or mom on a landline… Even if I could overlook the cell phone situation, what father can’t reach their daughter and doesn’t seek to see her (given how much he clearly loves her)? He knew where she lived, where she worked, he suspected that her mom was lying to her, why didn’t he just show up? I understand not wanting to make her mother look like the bad guy, but still, come on!

Other problem that I had, and I mentioned this, was how fast things moved between Declan and Rose. I get it, but still! When she found herself homeless and not able to rent a house, why didn’t she go to the diner to talk to Dante? Why didn’t she drive back to her dad’s? Why didn’t she found a room to rent? I get that Declan’s was there, available, easy, comfortable, but I thought it was a bit much. At some point they were spending almost 24 hours together… At least their relationship was cute, though i’ll admit that I didn’t feel the chemistry – maybe Right Where you Are ruined that for me .

Then Dante, my love, he became sort of a problem for me. At the point in the book that Rose and Declan start dating, Dante becomes absent, he starts picking up double shifts in the diner, and his boss apparently can’t hire another cook for over a month. So Dante loses his brilliance and energy and passion for life, and becomes quite unhappy. That’s when he decides to move to Greece. Well, I had so many problems with this. SO SO MANY! It bothered me that he didn’t even consider to search for his happiness right there, I get that moving away can be exciting, but I don’t think that the perspective of working under family is better than making it on your own. So Dante’s rash decision to move bothered me a bit. Also, I actually wanted to see him with Maura, which was something that we didn’t get a chance to do.

The ending I saw coming miles away, so I was upset when the author decided to throw that curveball in form of Declan’s letter. Maybe because I thought it was obvious what he was going to do, the only thing I didn’t know was the timing, but the fact that he was such a coward for those few hours really irked me.

By the way, I had a problem with the “I love you“‘s! And no, I’m not talking about Rose and Declan, but between Dante and Rose. I got it from the get go: these 2 are best friends and that’s it, so I didn’t feel the need to read “I love you. I would do anything for you.” 100 times during this book, sometimes, more than once in the same phrase. I think it’s weird. I love my best friend, but I don’t feel the need to tell her each time I’m talking to her, you know?

That’s it (uff, this turned out way longer than I thought it would)! I did enjoy the book, it had super sweet moments, and I know that if I had liked the characters more, some of this small problems wouldn’t even have registered. As it is, they did, that’s why this rating isn’t higher.

15 thoughts on “Something in the Air (Marie Landry)

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    You imagined Declan as Sam Heughan :O Oh my … that is one good looking man then. But it still sucks when you can’t really connect with the characters .. it just drags the whole story down somehow.

  2. Josephine says:

    Fabulous review Cristina! I loved it! Ugh I very much dislike it when romantic relationships in novels just speed up way too quickly. Like come on, learn the value in pacing of a relationship please!

  3. Cátia says:

    I just love how you compared the main character to Sam Heughan and thanks for the gif… I needed my daily dose of Sam Heughan gifs 😀 ! I can totally understand how Avery and Seth ruined everything for you. They had an amazing chesmitry.

  4. Dee @ the Bookish Khaleesi says:

    Haha you imagined Sam and I imagined Matt Goode. I know he didn’t fit the description from the book but he’s Irish so it automatically happened. Haha but yeah, I didn’t like how fast their relationship moved either. I said the same thing. It made sense and worked for them but still weird.

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      huuu, your choice is not bad at all 😛
      my biggest problem was not connecting with them, I think that if I did, I could have overcome some of the problems I saw. Also, I was beginning to feel more or less ok with them living together, and then once they actually started to sleep together, she forgot she even had another bed… it was weird.

Leave a Reply

