This Song Is (Not) for You (Laura Nowlin)

thissongisnotforyou_

Bandmate, best friend or boyfriend? For Ramona, one choice could mean losing them all.

Ramona and Sam are best friends. She fell for him the moment they met, but their friendship is just too important for her to mess up. Sam loves Ramona, but he would never expect her to feel the same way – she’s too quirky and cool for someone like him. Together, they have a band, and put all of their feelings for each other into music. 

Then Ramona and Sam meet Tom. He’s their band’s missing piece, and before Ramona knows it, she’s falling for him. But she hasn’t fallen out of love with Sam either. 

How can she be true to her feelings without breaking up the band?


*book read and review written in October, while on my trip to Japan*

I’m taking advantage of my trip to get ahead of some eARCs, and this one seemed like a fast and cute read, so I just went ahead. I have to tell you that I did not expect most of the things about this book, and that is a good thing.

First, the writing is pretty great. The story is told in three different POVs, Ramona, Sam and Tom, and each has their own voice and that translated well into the book. Each one has its own characteristics and it felt like they were writing is their own diaries and I liked that.

I really liked the characters too, though I had a hard time identifying with Tom and Ramona most of the times, Sam was easy enough, and I was rooting for the three of them, and I really wanted them ALL to be happy.

This book also talks about issues that I had never seen depicted before in writing, it has an asexual character and a kind of polyamorous relationship, and I felt that it was well written and captivating.

The plot is where this book kind of lost me, I felt that it had no real plot, but it was more of a coming of age and accepting and dealing with diferent things kind of thing. Though neither character had any problem dealing with any of the changes in their lives, so… I also felt that these 3 almost adults read kind of young.

All in all, good read, and the only reason this books doesn’t get a higher rating was because I didn’t really connects with some of the characters and its lack of plot.

8 thoughts on “This Song Is (Not) for You (Laura Nowlin)

Leave a Reply

