More Than Music (Chasing the Dream #1) (Elizabeth Briggs)

morethanmusic

A band trying to win it big on reality TV. A secret romance that might ruin it all.  

Music major Maddie Taylor just finished her junior year of college and has a summer internship lined up with the LA Philharmonic, yet every night she practices guitar and secretly dreams of a louder life. But geeky girls like her don’t get to be rock stars. That is, until tattooed singer Jared Cross catches her playing guitar and invites her to join his band on The Sound, a reality TV show competition.

Once on the show, Maddie discovers there’s more to Jared than his flirty smile and bad boy reputation – and that he’s just as big a geek as she is. With each performance their attraction becomes impossible to ignore, but when the show pressures them to stay single, they’re forced to keep their relationship secret.

As the competition heats up, Jared will do whatever it takes for his band to win, and Maddie must decide if following her dream is worth losing her heart.

*** New Adult romance suitable for 17+ due to mature content. ***


This is the only book from the bundle Banged: Rock Stars, Bad Boys & Dirty Deeds that’s I’ll review alone, and that is because I requested this bundle only because of this book. And because this is the fourth book I read in this series, having previously read More Than Comics, More Than Once and More Than Exes (now I just need to get my hands on Julie’s story!).

I already said my praise for Briggs’ writing in previous reviews, so I’m gonna skip that. I already loved Maddie and Jared as a couple (because I’ve seen them as a couple in 2 books already and they are super cute), but I really enjoyed getting to know them as individuals too and they are so so great.

Between the 4 books I read from this series, this one is also the one with the biggest and best plot. The reality competition is great, and watching them grow as a band, and as friends, was delightful. I already knew how it ended, so I wasn’t surprised, but the way that things progresses kind of left me a bit speechless. I was frustrated with Maddie and Jared at times, but ultimately they both needed to grow a bit in order to be comfortable in their own skins, and that’s what they did.

I absolutely loved the whole band together, and knowing Kyle and Hector already, I came to appreciate that time even more, and I think that’s one of the reasons I rated this book higher than all the others. And Kyle’s friendship with Maddie was so amazing. And Hector warming up to her… wow…

The only thing that I wished was different was the narration POVs. See, in More Than Comics and More Than Once we get dual POV, but here we only get Maddie’s POV, which means that we never actually hear Jared’s voice, and that’s a shame, because I think the book would be even better if we could know what was going on in his head at times.

I’m absolutely loving this series, and I’ll definitely read Julie’s and Carla’s stories.

26 thoughts on “More Than Music (Chasing the Dream #1) (Elizabeth Briggs)

  1. Cátia says:

    I want to read this and see how they became a couple. It sucks that it doesn’t have a dual POV. I would like to know Jared a little bit more and know what he’s thinking

Leave a Reply

