The Girl’s Got Secrets (Linda Kage)

girlsgotsecrets

Here’s the same old “girl posing as a boy” story but with a rock-n-roll twist.

Remy Curran dreams of one day being in a band, except the group she wants to join refuses to hire a girl drummer. So, she auditions as a guy…and makes the cut.

Becoming “Sticks,” a member of Non-Castrato, isn’t quite what she dreamed it would be, though. She spends most of her time keeping up the subterfuge and learning how to walk, talk, act, and drink like a man.

But what’s even harder to deal with is acting oblivious when the band’s heartthrob lead singer, Asher Hart, treats her like one of the guys and not a woman. She never imagined he’d be so much more than a pretty face with a nice voice. But he’s better than perfect. He’s perfect for her.

When love and lies combine, Remy must keep up the act or lose everything. But who knew lying to reach one dream could prevent you from attaining an even bigger dream?


Ohhh, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I started this book, but I loved it. The story is much more complex than I originally thought and the characters are so damn great and funny.

I did like the writing, but I found the amount of spanish terms in Remy’s chapters a little bit distracting, though I totally got them and found that it made a lot of sense. Also, because I actually speak spanish, I didn’t lost the meaning of any of it.

I loved the characters, LOVED THEM. First of, and one thing that majorly sets this book apart from other NA romances I’ve read recently, is how neither of the main characters are looking for a fling. Asher is looking for the real deal, while Remy just doesn’t actually knows that she’s even ready to start looking. The buildup and the development of their friendship was super awesome, and I did like how comfortable Asher was with the male version of Remy. Whether it was small moments like the guys playing Call of Duty, os Asher sharing some stuff of his life, it was pretty obvious how perfect they were for each other.

I also really liked all of the other characters of the Forbidden Night Club, and now I want to get my hands on the 6 other books from the series, because their stories seemed so interesting.

My only small problem with this book was how some parts dragged on a bit, but nothing majorly. And I did appreciate the epilogue ;). I would highly recommend this book, the relationships are great and the dialogue and situations are funny as hell. Also, Asher is just the cutest thing ever.

15 thoughts on “The Girl’s Got Secrets (Linda Kage)

  1. thebibliotheque says:

    I was super disappointed with “A perfect Ten”… Too bad because I loved the first book in the series and I have read books #1 to #5, so a while back I decided I should give a rest to the Forbidden Men series.

    Now, your review makes me rethink my position 🙂 I like how Asher sounds despite the fact that the whole “girl posing as guy” seems everything but refreshing.

Leave a Reply

