The Girlfriend Request (Jodie Andrefski)

thegirlfriendrequest

Updating best friend to girlfriend is more than a change of status…

Emma has been best friends with Eli since she moved to his neighborhood ten years ago. Tired of being cast in the role of the girl next door, Emma creates a fake Facebook profile in the hopes of starting an online friendship with Eli, which would hopefully lead to more. Like…way more. From friend request to In a Relationship–it all seemed so completely logical when she’d planned it.

Eli can’t figure out what Emma is up to. He’s pretty sure she’s the one behind the Facebook profile, but then again, why would she do something so drastic instead of just admitting she wants to be more than friends? And who the heck is this new guy he saw her with? Eli starts to think that just maybe…he missed his chance with the girl next door.

Two best friends, one outlandish ruse. Their status is about to become way more than It’s Complicated… 

This Entangled Teen Crush book contains one fake Facebook profile, two best friends who secretly crave each other, and a dreaded sex talk with parents…boy crush in the room included. Pushing a relationship beyond the friend zone has never been so crazy…


I started this book at Lisbon airport, yesterday at 6 a.m., and finished it around 5 p.m., in my bed in Barcelona. I picked this one up because I was too tired to focus on Winter and I needed a fun and easy read for the trip day.

While this book was an enjoyable and fast read, it was by no means brilliant. 

I enjoyed the writing well enough, the story flows well and I even liked how the author makes time passages within the same phrase.

My main problem though was with the plot and the characters. The premise of this story seemed a bit idiotic to me from the get go, but maybe it’s because I’m an adult, and “creating a false profile, with a fake pic, so he fall in love with her, then he will love me” seems really stupid to me. I understand Emma’s reluctance to flat out admit her feelings for her best friend, sure, I can even get on board with a fake profile of sorts, but the fake pic and some other stuff just went a bit overboard.

I could understand Emma and where she was coming from, but all her decisions felt wrong to me, and her inability to sort out her feelings was a bit too much. I kind of liked Eli, and I understand why it took him so long to see Em as something more (I was in love with my best friend at 15, and he only looked at me differently after I told him). But in the end, the drama between these two was too much! For 2 people who knew each other so well, they had a lot of communication problems. 

About Jake… grrr, I’m conflicted! I liked him when he first got there, and for a moment there I wasn’t actually sure that Emma and Eli would get together, because Jake seemed like a wiser and better option. But then I had to wonder, what the hell was a 19 yo boy doing with a 16 yo (very childish) girl? Because let’s face it: Emma acted way younger than her age! And then he did something I didn’t like, so… yeah… Sarah, I liked!

This book has very funny moments, and Emma’s parents are part of a few of them, like the sex talk! But overall this book was too heavy on the teen drama, with a lot of shouts and lack of communication, and that didn’t quite work for me. Also, the last chapter or so… NO! The idea that Eli needed to prove to anyone other than Emma how he felt, felt wrong to me, sorry.

In the end, this is not a MUST read, but it was fun and cute at times, so I sort of recommend it.

2 thoughts on “The Girlfriend Request (Jodie Andrefski)

Leave a Reply

