Let’s Talk About: #BloggerConfessions, the community and so on…

discussion_2

Hi people! I’d said in my resolutions for 2016 post that I intended on upping the game in terms of discussions posts on my blog, because even though I just turned 3 (the blog, not me), I only did 1 discussion post (and it was about sex in novels, in case you’re wondering). So, this is me starting and making an effort!

I apologise before hand for the theme I went with this week, I swear that I was wrecking my brains for something to write about, I was dead set on making a post about TV Shows and what makes us lose interest (and I will, at some point), but then this thing issued within the book blogging community, and I had to share my 2 cents on it.

So, you guessed it by now – from the title, if not anything else – I’m going to be tackling the whole #BloggerConfessions thing and the issues that came from it.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past couple of days, you know what I’m talking about, right? Yeah, so Nick and Nereyda from Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist posted a really good and controversial post named PROJECT #BLOGGERCONFESSIONS where they shared (as the name suggests) their confessions as bloggers and urged other book bloggers to do the same on twitter. Well… they did! Throughout the day of Tuesday, a lot of posts using the hashtag found their way to me timeline. The problem was that not everyone responded positively to this prompt, which cause the original authors to issue a clarification post.


Slide1

I’m a huge fan of everything that has to do with being yourself and giving your real opinions.

So on that front, I thought that this post was awesome, because it inspired a lot of people to let go a bit of their fears and confess to things they do or are afraid of as bloggers, and maybe, just maybe, they’ll now have a more relaxed view on things and have received enough good feedback to know how some of those fears are common and not unique to them, and how they can overcome them.

At one point or the other, I shared some things I saw in a few of the confessions that were uttered on the mentioned post and latter on twitter, and I know how good it feels to let it all out.

Still on the positive side of things, I think it’s amazing when a blogger lets loose and shares whatever they want on their blog, because it’s THEIR BLOG, their space and they should be able to do so.


Slide2

So what was the problem? I mean, if you’re being honest and on your own space, then what could possibly be the problem?

The problem, people, is how you say things! As simple as that. I think you can always say whatever you want – I’m big on free speech and everything – but you should not be rude. Common and basic rules of living in society will tell you that…

You should know that in blogging, as in anything in your life, you should be aware of how people might perceive what you are saying and how they might interpret said things. You’re not talking face to face. Anything written down will be interpreted by the reader only, so there’s always something missing when you write something – intent.

If you’ve read the post in question, you know that some of those confessions felt like attacks, and I’m assuming they were directed at SOMEONE(s) SPECIFIC, but they felt so general that I started to think back to everything I ever said and did as a blogger and if I’ve raved too much about a book, or tagged an author too many times. I haven’t! None of those things! But it somehow still felt personal, so I can understand how some people got offended and backlashed on twitter.


Slide3

From the various topics breached in that post, the book blogging community responded heavily to 3 main topics: the author/blogger relationship, getting money from book blogging and how that might affect the integrity of the blog.

Slide4

I find the whole discussion surrounding this topic a bit weird to be honest. Some bloggers complained about the fact that some blogger “kiss-ass” to authors in order to get stuff from them; and on the other hand, they complained how the authors sometimes take advantage of the blogger to promote their books non-stop.

About both of these accusations, I can honestly say that I was never a witness off. I follow A LOT of book bloggers on Twitter, and most of the time when I see them promoting a book is because I saw how much they liked it – because I stalk their blogs and goodreads accounts. I never paid much to who is friends with whom and how much they promote their stuff or whatever… maybe I’m not following the targets of those accusations? I can only guess…

On a different subject within the author/blogger relationship is the whether or not a blogger can be impartial when reviewing a friend’s book. Hmmmm, isn’t the way you like or dislike a book completely subjective? I mean, I’ve rated one book ZERO STARS and some people gave it 4 and 5 – I’m still at a lost on that one. Everyone experiences books differently, but suggesting that JUST BECAUSE a blogger is friends with said author, that he/she won’t be able to be impartial, is wrong. They might not be. Heck, if I really like an author, maybe I’m partial too, but do you really read a book based on one review?

More, if you completely mistrust said blogger, why are you still reading his/hers blog and following them on twitter?

Slide5

Other huge issue that has been around this week has been the whole discussion on whether book blogger should or shouldn’t get paid for blogging. While the #BloggerConfessions post tells you why it shouldn’t happen, Lucy @Queen of Contemporary, Alexandra @Twirling Pages and Aneeqah @My Not So Real Life give us their opinions on “why not?” and I totally agree with them. Why the hell not?

I’m a small blogger and still I spend a whole amount of time on my blog, so I can only imagine what those more accomplished people, that can sprout out discussions like they’re air, do to keep their hobbies at float. We as bloggers work hard, we promote books and authors. We attend events (not me, but you get the gist). We do a lot of things. So why is the community so adverse to the possibility of getting money out of it?

The problem, it seems, are the paid reviews and sponsored posts… why? If you work for a website or a paper, aren’t you getting paid to review stuff and stuff like that? Is your opinion influenced by it? If you’re a sports commentator, are you blind if your team sucks? Or do you act like the professional you are? So, why getting paid for this should automatically indicate that you’ll lose your integrity? You should trust people a little more…

Slide6

I’m a relative newbie blogger, ok? Yeah, so I’ve actually been blogging for 3 years, but about 2.5 of those years were not dedicated to book blogging, and my involvement in this community was practically non-existent, so I’m calling myself a newbie – deal with it! The point is, I wasn’t around when assumingly pretty bad things happened in the community, since I’ve come around, everything has been “sunshine and rainbows” – I’m not naive and I know that things were happening, I just wasn’t paying attention.

I never saw a case of lack of integrity in the community, but to be honest, for the most of my time here I’ve been following smallish blogs like my own on WordPress, and very rarely I ventured to the “outside” – I’m learning now… one step at a time. I do have to wonder though, is there a difference between self-host bloggers and the rest of us mortals? Because they seem to be viewed with a higher regard for most part… just rambling here, back to the subject now.

The implication that just because you receive ARCs and you want to keep receiving that, you will automatically up your review and not be honest, makes me queasy. Is that how it really works?! My guess is NO! Just because it happens with some people, don’t assume it will happen with everyone that reviews books, because it probably won’t.

I truly hate generalizations. Truly, honestly hate them. In everything in my life. (Don’t even get me started on how people say “all guys are the same (and assholes)” or “all girls are more sensible than the guys”… that crap makes me HULK OUT) – I could write a whole 2k discussion on why generalizations like this make me sick. So when you automatically don’t trust a review because you assume this kind of thing, either because you think the blogger lacks integrity, or because he’s friends with the author, it hurts me.

I know a lot of people has trouble giving less than 3 stars to a book, and that’s ok, to each its own, right? I mean, I mostly give 3, 4 and 5 stars too, but it’s basically because I choose the books I’m going to read rather carefully. I have no problems giving 1 and 2 stars though (or ZERO, if GoodReads allowed it =( ). But I have 31 years of age, and I stopped caring what people thought of me back in college – well, I stopped in HS, but then I relapsed 😛 – so as much as it hurts me to put up a bad review, I do it, because I truly believe that it will be beneficial to the author to know that somethings are not working. Analee @Book Snacks just wrote a wonderful post on the importance of negative reviews, go read it!

True, I never had an author friend or been paid to do it, so I don’t know how that would influence my easiness about this subject, but I believe that being honest is the only way to function in this corner of the web. Aentee @Read at Midnight recently did a discussion post on this subject, and you guys should go read it.


Slide7

OMG, are you sick of the serious stuff? I am! Now I’m gonna dump a few #BloggerConfessions of my own ;-).

  • I spend way more time blogging and blog hopping than I should – I’m sure this is news to NO ONE!
  • I still have no idea how to participate in twitter chats.
  • I have no clue how blog tours work.
  • I still can’t properly request a book on Edelweiss, and I’m pretty sure that the 2 books I got were sheer luck.
  • I skim most discussion posts – if you’re doing that to mine, it’s ok, I totally understand.
  • I love to comment on blogs, but sometimes I do not have the time to do so as much as I would like.
  • For my first 2.5 years of blogging I didn’t know how to follow a blog outside of wordpress. – YES, I’m 31 and a PhD student… laugh away!
  • To be honest, 99.5% of all the blogs I follow are still wordpress blogs.
  • I have no patience to learn about BlogLovin’, though I know I should.
  • The best part of reading ARCs for me has been discovering new authors and genres.
  • I was scared shitless when I published my first non-YA review on the blog, and by this I mean a review of a NA book with SEX!!!
  • The only person I know in real life that actually reads my blog is my mom, and I so wished she didn’t sometimes – I can never rant about her because she reads it! It’s exasperating.
  • It messes with my brain if the text is not justified and evenly spaced…
  • How a blog looks is VERY IMPORTANT to me.
  • Discussion posts are freaking HARD!

Eheh, I’m done! So, what’s your stand on all this craziness in the book blogging community? I honestly think that a lot of the times things are blown out of proportion and we should just chill and be cool and actually respect our fellow bloggers.  

And on this happier note, check out Jess @Princessica of Books post about this subject and her introduction to her own project, #ProjectPositivity.

95 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: #BloggerConfessions, the community and so on…

  1. fiddlerblue says:

    Congratulations on your first discussion post! 🙂 I agree that this is probably one of the more difficult types of post to prepare, but it’s also a lot of fun to read.
    With regards to #BloggerConfessions, I read it and followed the hashtag on Twitter but I didn’t feel as affected by what was written on the blog nor did I find it rude. Maybe I’m also just out of the loop? But yeah, that was quite a mess. I loved the idea though!
    I’m also guilty with following mostly WordPress blogs, just because the WordPress reader makes it so easy to keep track of posts and to reply to them. Bloglovin was helpful to keep up with those who use other platforms, so I hope you do give it a try too. I don’t know what I’m doing on Edelweiss either! and I blank out whenever I try to type a request for a book, lol. I wish it was as easy as NetGalley.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      thanks for reading and commenting ;). Yeah, wordpress makes it easy, and I can follow other blogs through the wordpress reader too, I just have to add them manually. I shall give a try to bloglovin… at some point in my life ;). And oh, wouldn’t it be so much easier if edelweiss was as easy as netgalley? because netgalley is heaven!

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    That was a brilliant discussion post. I actually didn’t really know the background story of the whole blogger confessions stuff, I only saw the fuss on Twitter.
    I guess I can see where some people are coming from, but I am mostly (or completely) agreeing with you. The only thing I really want to add is the fact that I am friends with a self-pub author and he keeps nagging me to read his books, even though I really don’t want to sometimes, because he wants to get more reviews. He keeps saying that if I don’t like it, he’ll respect my opinion but i can’t help and feel it will ruin our relationship to some extent. So, I can see why people who are friends with authors feel pressured by them sometimes, but in the end it’s MY problem if I can’t say no. The author of course just wants their work to be read, which is really understandable to me.

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ooh, so I like how you mentioned the positives AND negatives of this debacle. I have to admit I’m one of the ones a little outraged. 😉 But I didn’t even KNOW the story behind it at the beginnign and I saw everyone tweeting #bloggerconfessions and tweeted a few silly ones of my own. Then I read the original post and was not. happy. at. all.

    I think the reason I got upset, though, is because the original bloggers were very negative. They didn’t seem to enjoy blogging at all and they seemed to mistrust and dislike MANY other bloggers. That made me sad! I don’t know them or follow their blog, but why would one blog if they had so much hate towards the community???

    And I think confessing things about yourself is one thing (like I’ll totally confess that I’m very quick to give negative reviews and I’ve had stupid arguments online before even though I swoooore to myself I’d never do that 😛 )…but I feelt hat’s different to saying another blogger is doing something ALL WRONG. You know?? BUT YEAH. XD hehe, this comment is turning into an essay…

    So basically I do agree with what you said a lot. I think bloggers should be able to be paid. I think bloggers should be able to have friendships with authors. And if someone ticks you off? DON’T FOLLOW THEM. Problem solved. 😀 And positivity over negativity = always.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      I actually read the post before the whole twitter thing even started – mainly because twitter was down in europe throughout that morning – but you’re so right! There was just so much negativity in that post. Some things they said were totally fine and even funny, but then others just floored me a bit at how much they didn’t seem to be enjoying it… at all! And honestly, no one makes you read certain posts or follow people on twitter, if you do it on your own free will, why complain about it? If a read a book I know I won’t like, who’s fault is it? MINE! If I open a post I know will make me mad, I stop reading it. It’s that simple!
      I do think that being able to let loose and “confess” stuff might be good and fun, but they should be about you and not about what you think other people are wrong about.
      Thanks for stopping by Cait 🙂

    • vrushali21 says:

      Why am I not able to comment on any of your posts?
      I just wanted to tell you first, I’m not any psycho stalker and second, yes I read your posts since September!!
      And now I know you simply adore cakes and dragons and Japanese and Maggie!!!
      Great job! You’re really very funny and half the time I sat laughing reading your post- facts about Winter!

  4. Annemieke says:

    I agree with you on this. The way some of it was worded did feel like they were attacking (some) people with it so I get why people got upset about it. But honesty is always commendable. And if anything it has blown things wide open and people are discussing these topics with each other (and sometimes with people they might not have otherwise talked to), though hopefully in a respectful way.

    On the one hand I think the backlash was a bit too big, but on the other hand that is what you can expect when you post confessions, especially when they concern other people. I got the impression they weren’t expecting a negative response.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      you’re right, I think they weren’t. But the thing is, when the confessions are about what other people are doing wrong, it’s not very cool. I do think any type of discussion is a positive thing, but we have to learn to respect one another in this process. I saw tweets against the post, but I didn’t think they were that bad, people did what people do when they feel attacked: they try to defend themselves. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Syc @ The Lit Mermaid says:

    Aha, Syc writing comments on discussions, such a rare occurrence. 😏
    I didn’t feel offended or affected. Instead, I actually found some of the confessions funny (like the cursing and the shower lol) and to some, I marked a ‘I disagree’ sign but I never actually felt mad or sad about it because again, they were their confessions, their own thoughts and opinions which could be right or wrong thus, I believe that people should have not taken them as some mindless accusations or serious attacks especially if no name had been dropped, nothing was proven true or no one actually felt guilty reading the confessions. And even if there were actual people who felt that they were attacked by N&N’s words, I think they should have just calmed down and be like “haters gonna hate” and continued their own thing. They should have not let someone’s opinion made them feel guilty if they believed they were not doing anything wrong but I guess for some, that’s something hard to do. Some even ended up doing the backlash instead of being the bigger person who could have just walked away from others’ “negativity”.
    One thing I’ve learned in the past few months I’ve been blogging – the book blogging community is sometimes not a haven for bibliophiles. A sad thought, I know. 😭
    I confess on these two things too. XD
    – I still have no idea how to participate in twitter chats.
    – I have no clue how blog tours work.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      Syc! Thanks for commenting! I agreed with some and disagreed with others, and though I felt attacked at some level, I didn’t lash out. I understand why they said those things, it’s in their rights, but so is the response they got. Sometimes it’s really hard to feel attacked and not respond, even more so, I think, when it’s in the indirect terms that were used. Honestly the whole thing felt like a high school recess or something.

  6. Holly says:

    I have no idea how twitter chats work, either! It’s something that I’ve always wanted to do but I feel weird just randomly jumping in and throwing in a hashtag here and there. Someone should definitely make a tutorial haha 🙂

  7. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    I personally didn’t find the post to be that offensive or rude because I can see where they’re coming from. I can also see why people might have taken it the wrong way though, but at the same time I thought the backlash was a bit too severe. I think it’s fine for people to be angry but to go on and on about it for days, I thought it was a bit much. And while most of it was just anger, I found some tweets that were quite mean and I thought it was completely unfair that these tweets was justified by saying that “they weren’t tagged in the hateful comments so it’s fine”. The blogger confessions might have come across to some as mean and rude generalized attacks, but I think it’s more wrong to say mean and hurtful things that are obviously aimed at two people in particular. Regardless of whether Nick and Nereyda were tagged or not, I’d consider that bullying. To say that N&N could mute/unfollow/leave the community if they don’t like what they see is fine…but it also works the other way. They could have easily muted, unfollowed or even bitched about it in private, but they chose to go about it publicly in a harmful way and I don’t think that’s okay. Okay end rant.

  8. Katy Goodwin-Bates says:

    I saw all the controversy on Twitter and read the original post and just thought it was unnecessarily mean-spirited. It seemed to come from a very bitter place. And then I wanted to lighten the mood by posting #bloggerconfessions like “I type all my blogs using just my little finger and a chopstick I stole from Wagamama” or “I am actually only 5 but my vocabulary is REALLY impressive and my parents have no idea I have a blog” but I kind of felt like the bloggersphere needed time to recover its sense of humour.

      • susannahhtaylor says:

        Fashion bloggers, beauty bloggers, everyone get paid- they even get more access to things than we do like sponsorships & free product access or tickets to shows for coverage- why can’t that happen for book bloggers? Why not pick someone to cover BEA or some other convention? We work just as hard as the rest. Doesn’t feel fair.

          • susannahhtaylor says:

            Just because they’re filming with a camera & have to edit videos it’s ‘work’ and takes longer. What about us? We have to design our pages, think about renting domains, buy all our books because ARCs are rare & we don’t get free stuff sent to us by publishers, our costs incurred are far more than those of a BookTuber. All they need is a decent camera or just a good phone camera & a laptop & they’re good to go. There aren’t any extras involved.

          • susannahhtaylor says:

            They should!! Jesse from Jessethreader got a Brandon Sanderson themed box from Tor & he’s only read the first book in the Mistborn Trilogy & the box contained an ARC of his latest book. I mean, there are people literally WAITING to review his books & Tor is giving free ARCs to BookTubers who won’t read it. Is that even remotely fair?

          • My Tiny Obsessions says:

            it’s not! and in fairness, Jesse has said on twitter how he believes that bloggers should get the same rights as booktubers. But yeah, that sucks! It’s totally based on the medium of promotion. Visuals are maybe more effective?

          • susannahhtaylor says:

            People tend to have BookTube playing in the background while they do other things. When you read a book review on a blog, you read the whole thing, dedicate at least 5-10 minutes to read through & then post something that compliments the writer on their writing or start up a conversation about a character or something. Things like that don’t happen on BookTube. We’re all just trying to get responses from the BookTubers. There’s an impersonal air, a celebrity status that acts as a barrier.

  9. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    This was such an interesting post to read, thank you for that! I didn’t know about the origin of the #bloggersconfession to be honest, I just saw it around Twitter. I really love how you mentionned all the sides of that story I didn’t completely get, haha.
    I’m a newbie to the book blogging community, too, and I guess I’m far from knowing all the drama that can come out of this. I think that everyone should review books how they want, and say what they think about it, regardless of their friendship with the author, or not. Like you perfectly said, no one -well, not me-, judge a book on only one review.
    Book bloggers SHOULD be able to get paid, they SHOULD be able to be friends with authors without getting negative comments for that, and they SHOULD just do what they love. 🙂

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      thank you for commenting Marie :). Yeah, Tuesday morning when I read the original post, I had a feeling that things wouldn’t go all that well in the community, I wasn’t quite expecting the implosion. Still, I don’t know how all the drama came to be, I just wish that people were more respectful of each other. No one makes you read something or follow someone, right? 🙂 And yes, absolutely, bloggers should so whatever they love

  10. Keira says:

    I guess I have been living under a rock… I suppose I have though, I’ve not been on my personal blog or reading blog posts in a few days because of school and setting up this book club, but I was on twitter….. oh well!

    This is a really interesting discussion post and I agree with you: discussion posts are really hard to write. They take time and I always feel like I am rambling. Oh well.

  11. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    This is a superb post, absolutely LOVE it! I read “their” post after learning it from Jess of Princessica of Books and I was really disheartened after reading it, although I’m a newbie as well but I’m fairly active in the blogging community and I really haven’t seen any unethical things those people talked about. Nonetheless, I loved reading this post and you should totally do some more discussion posts, I absolutely love them! 🙂

  12. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I always read about craziness after it’s gone down and my opinion is always the same: people care way too much.

    Also feeling awkward being mean about a book when you’re friends with the author is surely totally normal? That just sounds like being a considerate human to me.

  13. A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

    You covered loads of topics in this post, so sorry in advance for the long comment 😉

    So I must of been on of these people living under a rock because I did not know about all of this drama, but then again I wasn’t particularly active on Twitter this week. I saw some tweets here and there and the ones are saw seemed reasonable so I thought the whole hashtag was quite reasonable. I guess I was wrong.

    I don’t feel angry or upset about the original post. Many of the people seemed to bring up some key issues that the book blogging community need to talk about and look the post has got us talking so it must of been a good thing. Though some confessions were obvious generalisations most seemed viable enough and I think I am just happy that by people using this hashtag they are saying some stuff that they need to get off their chests.

    With the whole ARC debacle I couldn’t care less. People can choose to follow other bloggers if they want to. If they feel like the blogger is being untrustworthy just unfollow or block them. Done. People can’t know 100% if the reviewer is lying or not, you just have to make an educated guess. Sometime I feel that small bloggers have way too much book envy and they take that out on people who are genuinely happy to get an arc.

    I love writing reviews for book I thought were mediocre. I feel no regret and sometimes you need to remember that this is YOUR blog and NOBODY should dictate what you post on it.

    Hmm the whole money issue is a little bit muddy. Youtubers who focus on make up get free make up products and it’s just the same for us in books. Some booktubers do get paid and I don’t think am everybody who has a blog or channel or platform should get paid as we are just expressing our opinion. I’m pretty sure not every beauty guru gets money just for showing what they hauled last month.

    Umm I think I’m done! To conclude, everybody needs to chill out and read over the weekend!

    Fantastic post! I’m glad I didn’t know about this drama as in sure I would of tried to do a post like this and failed!

  14. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    Jessica’s post is what brought me to read Nick and Nereyda’s original one. I must say that I’m generally super oblivious to any supposed drama that happens in the blogging community and I am so grateful for that. Secondly I completely agree with everything you said (which happens with us a lot haha). When I was reading the original post, I just kept thinking “are they talking about me?” Which is ludicrous because I’m so new they don’t even know who I am. But still, it’s written in a way that makes the reader feel like a target.
    I feel like the generalizations they were making were the biggest problem. How do you really know if the people you are accusing are actually doing what you say they are? I doubt you’re friends or that they tell you about it. And how would you feel if someone judged you and your decisions without knowing anything about you?
    All your confessions are my confessions I swear haha. Although I use bloglovin I still don’t get it. I follow other types of blogs like blogspot on there but I don’t know how to comment on the app or if I even can do that. And what if I comment on something and never know if they responded? I much rather use WordPress and call it a day haha

  15. perfectioninbooks says:

    So much to say here!
    I was just in twitter,in my lazy mode and then I saw this author talking about the # and she was talking about the blogger/author relationship. I didn’t know anything abou the #BloggerConfessions so I checked it. I must say, that there were tweets that told my situation, and that was great because as you said, I felt like I was not alone in that situation. It’s great that we get to express and say how we feel but with respect,thinking what you write.
    There were many tweets that were saying the truth (for me at least) but the way they were written just made me say no.
    About the author/blogger relationship, I must say that I don’t have any author friend but I admire those bloggers that have that kind of relationship. I hope one day I have one too. I just feel like it’s amazing and it can be great for the author and blogger to grow in their own ‘business’. I don’t think opinions have necessarily to be afected by this. I trust in opinions,bloggers and their own voice.
    About book blogging and money, I just agree with you in everything, Why the hell not?
    Now about your #BloggerConfessions (which I loved to read) I just wanted to let you know that I don’t have any idea about twitter chats. It’s just so confusing! I agree that the best part of ARCs is dicovering new books and authors that if it weren’t for their ARC I’m not sure I would ever know them. My mom wants to know the url of my blog but I just haven’t said it yet. I’m not sure I would feel entirely comfortable with her reading every post. And last but not least, yes! Discussion posts are so much work!
    This is a looong comment,sorry for that haha!

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      😀 thanks for stopping by and commenting! I’m a sucker for comments ;).
      You’re so right! I read some of those confessions and although the content was true and I could identify with it, the tone was not ok. Others were just amazing and hilarious and I think they can be beneficial to all of us.
      I see absolutely nothing wrong with authors/bloggers friendships – not that I have one. I think that either the blogger has his own voice, or he doesn’t. Simple as that.
      I share my posts on my personal facebook, so really, my whole family and friends have access to my blog – although my mom is the only one that subscribes to it… she gets emails! Still, it’s complicated always measuring words to make sure I don’t slip up and offend someone in my real life. eheh

  16. thedaydreamingbookworm says:

    I think I am among the few who wasn’t so offended by the post, but I tend to not take anything personally anyways & everyone’s entitled to their own opinion, right? (hahahaha) What irritated me more was how people reacted. Some bloggers were just calling them all kinds of names and that was not helping the situation. Everything was blown way out of proportion.

    I totally do agree though that bloggers should be paid. There ARE bloggers that paid, who also started out as baby bloggers and grew from there. If we are putting our time and effort into this ‘hobby’, it would be great to be compensated. I suggest all access pass to any book I want XD! Great discussion, Cristina :)!

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      Thank you :). Yes, how cool would it be to have an all access pass to any book ever? ah? I would seriously love that!
      People do need to chill, but there needs to be more mutual respect, and I think that for the easiness of writing a few words on a screen, we nowadays forget how to be civil, you know?

      • thedaydreamingbookworm says:

        I know & especially since it’s on the world wide web where everyone can see…that doesn’t ever go away. Once it’s out there, IT’S OUT THERE! I hope something like this never happens again, or if it does, people are more mindful of their comments because some bloggers who did contribute to the post anonymously were very hurt by some of the responses and that is just not fair!

  17. flowlessbooks says:

    Great discussion post !!! It’s one of my 2016 resolutions too haha !
    I must live under a rock because I wasn’t aware at all about all of this…I agree with everything you said though !

  18. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction says:

    I ended up over here via Princessica of Books – glad I came by to read your take on this. Unfortunately, I think Twitter is just not a good place to have conversations about things like this. I do think that Nick and Nereyda didn’t really mean to come off so negatively and that some of the things they said were misconstrued a little – but the problem is that’s what happens when we take to Twitter to vent our frustrations. It’s just not the best place to do that sort of thing because things can easily spiral out of control. Hopefully everyone involved has now had a little time and space to (mostly) forget about it and it will all blow over. I hate to think that people will look at this as another reason to fear the “drama” of the book blogging community.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      You are totally right about twitter not being a good place for this, but that’s the problem of today’s ways of communication. I think this has blown over by now, the problem is that sometimes it feels like the community is divided into 2 big groups and I honestly see no reason for it. =/

Leave a Reply

