Anna and the French Kiss (Stephanie Perkins)

annaandthefrenchkiss

Anna has everything figured out – she was about to start senior year with her best friend, she had a great weekend job, and her huge work crush looked as if it might finally be going somewhere… Until her dad decides to send her 4383 miles away to Paris. On her own. 

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna finds herself making new friends, including Etienne, the smart, beautiful boy from the floor above. But he’s taken – and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near-missed end with the French kiss she’s been waiting for?


I finally did it!!! After owning the book for several months, I finally read Anna and the French Kiss, and I did it in little over 24 hours because it was awesome!

The first thing that really surprised me was how funny the writing was. Most contemporaries are quite light and easy to read, but Stephanie Perkins made this book hilariously funny, and I had such a  great time reading it.

anna_2

I adored all this cast of characters. Two things amazed me in this book, for one the characters acted their age, even with the level of maturity that comes with not having a parent present 24/7, they were still teenagers, learning by trial and error. Secondly, I loved that no one was perfect! And how those little imperfections just made for better characters, like the fact that Étienne was short and afraid of heights… I mean, how cute was that?

anna_1

Anna and Étienne’s relationship is the epitome of cuteness! They’re adorable :D! I liked how they became friends first and foremost, and how they both helped each other through such hard times. I just wished that some decisions were made a little earlier in the game, but I was pretty happy with the end result.

anna_3

This was definitly one of the best contemporary romances I’ve read so far, and I can’t wait to read Lola and Isla

54 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss (Stephanie Perkins)

  1. anovelglimpse says:

    This one wasn’t my favorite. The whole cheating aspect kind of bugged me in it. I’m not sure why because I’ve read others that didn’t. I actually liked the next two books better than this one.

  2. Abbie says:

    I read this book a while ago and i’m so glad you loved it! the quotes you used brought back a familiar feeling of nothing but love for this book, you’re making me want to re-read it! haha 😀 I hope you enjoy Lola and the boy next door just as much, I have feeling you will 🙂

  3. Elizabeth @ Book Yabber says:

    J’ai adore ce livre! (I love this book!) Anna and the French Kiss, as you can see, has inspired me to learn French!

    I love reading about how others feel about this book! I’m so glad that you loved it! I’m excited to watch as you read LOLA and ISLA! ANNA is my favorite of the series, followed closely by ISLA. I’m so excited for you!! Enjoy!!

  4. Kat Impossible says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did during the time. I am so intrigued about how much you’ll like Lola and Isla though … Most people (except me) adore Lola and found Isla disappointing. I liked all the books, but as I’ve mentioned before, my ranking is Anna then Isla and then Lola.

Leave a Reply

