Let’s Talk About: Are (Blog) Looks Important?

discussion_looks

Hey!!! Today I thought it was about time to do a small discussion on a topic that it’s important to me, and that is:

bloglooks_1

For me they are. I have to admit that I’m must more likely to look, browse and read a blog and its posts if the looks are appealing. So, here are some things I look forward to while looking at other people’s blogs.

bloglooks_2

I love a clean look on a blog. It helps if you only have one sidebar, if your fonts’ colours don’t clash, etc. It will make it easier to read.

bloglooks_3

Another thing that I look forward in a blog is organization. I want to reach a blog and be able to find the right tags or sections. But most importantly, have a search bar and an about/introduction page!

bloglooks_4

This goes with both of the above. I’m most likely to read a blog post if it looks good. Yeah, ultimately the content matters the most, but if I don’t like how a blog post looks, I might never reach its content.

bloglooks_5

I will admit that I do love the use of images in post, whether they’re gifs, book covers, quotes, …, it doesn’t really matter, as long as it’s a break in the text. If you do long posts or tags and don’t use any visual aid, the post gets tough to get through, no matter how amazing the content is.

bloglooks_6

People, take your minds outta the gutter here, I’m talking about font sizes! When you’re picking up a theme for your blog, make sure the font that comes with it isn’t tiny tiny small. I’ve found a few blogs that use a very small font and my eyes do not cooperate.


To sum it up this very short “discussion”, I do think that content is more important, but I can only reach it if the blog appeals to me on certain levels. I get tired of looking into a blog if I can’t find a search bar, or if the main page/blog doesn’t show their latest posts. I find graphics useful, and huge blocks of text usually send me away easily.

bloglooks_7

52 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: Are (Blog) Looks Important?

  1. Melanie @BooksAreMyChildren says:

    I think a nice blog look can be beneficial, but I think if you have well-written content people will come back for more than the blog design.

      • Melanie @BooksAreMyChildren says:

        I don’t think less people make it past the content, but personally I have left certain websites due to the design but I’ll come back later if I’m still interested. I just think that it depends on whether or not the person is interested in the blog.

  2. Cátia says:

    I completely agree with you in all these aspects. For me the looks is not the most important thing. Content is more important but if I see a blog with a great look I’ll be reaching for it easier thatn if the look is not that good and I might miss a great blog with great content because of that

  3. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Great post! 🙂 I definitely agree with you, a blog looks is so important, and it’s ultimately what makes a person want to read the content. When the font size is too small, the colors too bright or stuff like that, it doesn’t make people want to stay. I know it sounds bad, but it’s definitely true for me. I sometimes stay on a blog because a content makes me curious, though, whether I found it through twitter or something, and I end up reading and loving it. But ultimately, I think it’s important to have a good design, or at least, something that doesn’t hurt our eyes 🙂 Blog design is such a huge question, I never thought it’d take so much space in my blogger’s mind, but every two days I’m wondering about mine, haha !

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      yes. what attracts me first to a blog is its appearance. if the blog doesn’t “look good” at first sight, it’s less likely for me to reach out and actually read the content. If it’s appealing and I like the content, I will definitly be back.
      and on, yeah, always on my mind as well =/

  4. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    gah still need to get my own blog up to standard… But yeah I get what you mean- if a blog looks good it can make a great first impression. Personally, I can appreciate the way a good blog looks, but won’t be entirely put off unless it’s actively bad.
    Great post! And for the record I’ve always loved your blog design 🙂

  5. Nicole.Ilene says:

    I’m constantly second guessing my blog’s look haha
    I think it does on a certain level, like you said, if it’s hard to read or find something, I’m more to prone leave because my eyes start to hurt or I get frustrated trying to find something. Great post 🙂

  6. thebibliotheque says:

    I have to agree, and it may sound rough but if the blog looks messy and crappy most of the people will not even bother even if the content is the greatest (me included)… Yeah, people, deny it all you want but it really catches your eye if the blog looks freaking cute and awesome. And that’s the truth.

    Is content important? Very. But the way to compel people to read your content is the media where you present it, and that spark of interest that awakes when you first check a blog occurs with that first impression… And that goes beyond personal taste. Some like simple, some flashy, but for me some effort has to be put into the appearance so I can go through all the posts and devour your content.

    So yeah, I definitely and absolutely agree 🙂

  7. flowlessbooks says:

    I totally agree with you ! (I also want to improve my blog look !)
    It’s like a book cover : if it’s pretty it will catch your eyes. So of course you’re staying because of the content, but the first impression is important !

  8. Lila says:

    i think blog looks matter a lot to the extent that things have to be crisp, organized, and accessible to make it easy for viewers to navigate. the more visually appealing the better, though that matters less than the previous three things i mentioned (in other words, a visually appealing blog that isn’t accessible for viewers isn’t really useful)

  9. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    I care about how a blog looks, if I’m searching and your blog is pretty, I’ll stop and read the last post haha but I also feel like I kinda fail at this, I don’t use colors while writing and my only visual aids are book covers most of the time. And I also think my graphics are kind of meh 😕

  10. Aldii says:

    You might already know my opinion about this topic. I totally agree with you! An organized and clean blog is so great to see. As you said, content is important, but it has to look nice too so you can attract attention. Great post! 😀

  11. rakioddbooks says:

    My biggest concert is font size, I don’t like blogs that have small font sizes. I also like blogs that have the “continue reading” link and I also prefer bloggers who post short reviews.

  12. Emma The Book Lover says:

    Love this post! I definitely agree with organization, I’m a neat freak when it comes to stuff like that so I but all my reviews in alphabetical order all together with a heading fat the top of my blog along with of course and about page and such.

  13. Tasya says:

    I think it is. When I visited a blog, I’d love if the theme is clean and simple. It isn’t too clutered, and the colors match each other. And images! If it doesn’t have images it’s okay, but amazing graphics in posts would attract me more! 😀

  14. bookishthingsandtea says:

    I don’t know about you, but I really dig a very “clean” looking blog (you might be able to tell from mine, haha!) I like the minimalist look because a flashy looking blog sometimes distracts me from the content if I’m trying to read on someone’s blog!

    As sad as it is to say, I don’t really explore a blog too much if it isn’t clearly organized. It just gets confusing! I honestly don’t mind big blocks of text because I’m guilty of that myself (especially in reviews), but it’s always nice to space it up. Great post, Christina! 🙂

  15. Kat Impossible says:

    Gotta admit, looks are important! Search bars and a fairly simple organisation are mostly key, but I also appreciate a clean look. Basically, everything you just said. God … it’s so boring when I just agree with everything you say hahaha

Leave a Reply

