Sever (J.M. Miller)

sever

One simple decision can end a future.
One simple persuasion can sever a life.

The moment Annisyn Kane slips her rake pick into the lock of a stranger’s door, the straight life she’s led the last few years is scratched out. In the past, the goal was never theft. It was to escape. From life. From death. To quiet the dreams that replayed an affliction she longed to forget. This night, though, was different. She was out of options.

The isolated house was supposed to be an easy target. In and out. No problems. But the simple job takes a twisted turn when Annisyn comes face to face with the only real love she ever had.

Five years ago, she could have persuaded Damian Mead to stay. She wasn’t willing to be the end of his future, so she let him go. Before the emotions from their tangled past have a chance to spin between them, Annisyn discovers that their startling encounter is the least of the night’s problems. There’s someone else in the house, and the only thing on his mind is revenge.


Hello! I finally read Sever! This was another eARC I got through Netgalley a long time ago – ok, not THAT long… December, maybe? Either way, I finally got to it during this weekend, and I really enjoyed it.

This book is told in two timelines, each chapter jumps from the present to the past, unwinding and connecting the event of the present with what happened 5 years before. It was such an unique way of storytelling and the writing was so on point.

At first I thought that this jumping back and forward would be confusing, but it turned out not to be a problem at all, quite the opposite, I wanted to know more of the past and of the present equally, there wasn’t a weaker timeline… at all! Even though I knew where the past would lead the characters – duh, I had the present timeline for that – I was still on the edge of my seat for the whole of it.

I really liked both main characters. Syn was such a troubled and tough girl, ever since she was little, but she was also good, and she wanted more of life… just not for herself. Damien was seriously amazing, from his 12 yo self, to his 23 yo self, all the time, every time. I loved how Syn helped him fight for what he wanted and what made him happy, even if she didn’t allow him to do the same for her.

The past storyline was beyond informative, it showed how these two characters met, their drives and motivations, as well as how they fell in love and felt for each other. Even though this happened when they were teens, I really liked how sex was introduced to their relationship, and how unapologetic they were towards each other. Their relationship felt real, not perfect, but real. Even though I would have loved to see them a little more fleshed out, I don’t think it was possible within the format of the book.

The present brings Syn and Damien back together, after they haven’t seen each other in 5 years – when she decided that leaving him was the best she could do for him. Their present situation is dangerous and thrilling and heart-stopping. The action is real and so were my nerves. See, in the past you know nothing BAD can happen, but in the present…

I was satisfied with that ending. I liked the parallelisms between Syn and Damien at the end, and the fact that they overcome the issues that arise together. I would recommend this book if you like a good New Adult story, with a lot of dark twists.

6 thoughts on “Sever (J.M. Miller)

  1. Jorelene @ Page Chronicles says:

    I’ve been looking for a good New Adult book to read since I’m in need of reading more of them! It’s been hard for me to find good ones to pick up since they all seem to be the same to me after reading a few – this one seems more unique however, so I’m looking forward to seeing how the story plays out! I’m definitely adding this to my TBR. Great review, Cristina! 🙂

Leave a Reply

