Let’s Talk About: Spoilers and Social Media

discussion_spoilers

Hey guys. I swear I didn’t mean to stop doing discussions for so long, but you know… LIFE and lack of ideas and so on. But this week, while on twitter, I started to see a pattern and I wanted to talk about it.


I usually have no problems with spoilers, but I don’t appreciate when they’re thrown in my face, you know? If I’m curious about something, I go and look for it. But scrolling through my timeline and being bombarded with spoilers for several books and shows, it sometimes pisses me off.

I’ll give you a three examples that threw me a bit off, delivered through different methods, but all with the same end: it was a major SPOILER.

spoilers_1

I’ll start with a pretty basic one: Game of Thrones. And for this one I was spoiled by the official show account! I get it, you have to bring in audience to your show – though to be honest, everyone is already into Game of Thrones – but do you have to plaster a picture everywhere of such a big moment that totally gives a very important thing away?

I mean, raise hands if you’re still in the dark about what happened to Jon Snow. Anyone? Didn’t think so. They could have used a picture of one single second earlier of the same shot, and that wouldn’t have spoiled anything.

spoilers_2

The second way I was spoiled a lot recently was with fanart, specifically from A Court of Mist and Fury. Guys, I love all the fanart going around on twitter and tumblr, but there’s no doubt in my mind that it is highly spoilery and pretty hard to ignore if it pops up on your twitter feed. While you can chose not to read a tweet, a picture is, by definition, VISUAL, so there’s no way to escape it.

Another one that kind of did it for me was a fanart of Simon and Blue from Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It’s one of the few things that I think it’s still protected, that bit of spoiler, and while I do love the fanart, posting it on twitter will literally spoil the book.

spoilers_3

Thirdly, I would like to mention written spoilers. Anyone can slip and write a spoiler when reading a book, whether because you’re discussing it with someone, or because it just slips, right? Especially while live-tweeting a book. It happened to me at some point.

But consciously writing a spoiler for a book that won’t be out for MONTHS, not tagging it as a spoiler, and then saying that you did nothing wrong in doing it? No no no guys… don’t do that!

You can tweet your feelings and reactions all you like, but tweeting a plot point or a twist, can spoil a lot of people.


spoilers_4

Yeah… easier said than done! If you’re aware of a show or book coming out that you don’t want to get spoiled for, you try to overt it, sure, but after a week, a month, spoilers will be everywhere and they’re unavoidable.

So, if you can’t avoid it, what can you do?

Well, I think there’s need to be a little more consideration from those doing the spoiling. Comments can escape, sure, but don’t give away spoilers just because. Be careful about what you write.

Same with fanart, which is amazing, but if you’re drawing a spoiler, be sure to mark it as such when you share it, because that gives people the chance to avoid it.

TV shows spoilers are intriguing to me, given that most people have DVR nowadays and don’t watch the shows live, you would expect that at least the official accounts would be more careful about giving out spoilers, right? Apparently no!

spoilers_5

45 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: Spoilers and Social Media

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    Great topic! Spoilers are not funny or cute in any way. People should be banned from WordPress, Twitter, or whatever for blatantly posting spoilers–okay, maybe that’s not reasonable but that’s how strongly I feel about them! So many people watch recorded or streaming versions of their favorite TV shows, so others need to be super careful not to divulge spoilers. I get that people want to discuss exciting things they read about in books or see in shows and movies, but they need to do it in clearly marked spoiler threads, forums, via DM, etc. Incidentaqlly, I think GoT is the worst when it comes to spoilers. American Idol used to be that way too. I can usually avoid spoilers about shows, except when the spoiler is part of the darn headline!

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      Game of thrones bothers me a lot. I haven’t watched the show in several seasons, but I always know what’s happening because they share it, and put it on covers of magazines – with spoilers. I have no problem when the posts and tweets (etc) are marked as spoilers, but most aren’t and that’s sad. some books and show don’t bother me, but some do. People need to be more careful.

  2. Lisa says:

    I feel you! I was so mad that someone spoilt who Gossip Girl was on Twitter, like, what the hell? Why would you do that? I am cautious myself, I think. At least I hope so. And I do see that spoilers are especially troublesome with Game of Thrones. There are just so many of them and most of them they are like so major, too.

  3. Kat Impossible says:

    I love your post because those are all such valid points. You can’t help getting spoiled sometimes and it’s ridiculous that you are expected to put your social media life on hold just because you haven’t been able to watch a show or read a book yet (especially if it’s not even out)!
    You know how oblivious I am thouhg hahaha I got the whole love for Rhys thing with ACOMAF but that was it. I am blissfully unaware like that hahaha

  4. Lois says:

    Oh spoilers. I have definitely been spoiled by all three methods. I’m quite luck that on Monday’s I’m usually out of the house all day so I can avoid those Game of Thrones spoilers but it means having to immediately catch up the day after so I can continue to avoid them.
    I am one of the few people that isn’t really jumping on the Court of Thorns and Roses bandwagon and I can basically outline the plot of both books because I’ve seen so many spoilers haha.

  5. Sammie @ booksandbiros says:

    Yes, yes, yes! I’m currently trying to stay away from all things Harry Potter on social media so that Cursed Child doesn’t get ruined for me. I can understand the odd slip with live tweeting and the like, but with reviews and official accounts it is so not on. Argh!

  6. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    Great post! I totally agree with you. Some people just don’t care what they write and end up spoiling it for other people. That has happened for me quiet a few times. :/

    I personally don’t write anything spoiler-y. IF I do it, then it’s on my blog (and not on social media) and I write a warning in the beginning of the post. It literary takes me one minute to do that, so I don’t see why others can’t.

    I adore fanart ❤ but I tend to stay away from it, until I have read the book and/or caught up to the series. They do tend to spoil quiet a lot, even though I love them to pieces.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      i usually do the same as you. if i need to talk about a certain even of the book, i mark it as spoilers. i love fanart too, and as you, i only look for it once i’m done with a story. but when it shows on the twitter feed is hard to control that =/

  7. Cátia says:

    I was already spoiled with all the methods above and while I don’t care sometimes there are other times that I get mad. Normaly I’m okay with fanart because I love fanart but I’ve been definitelly spoiled for ACOMAF XD . I don’t watch GoT and even I am spoiled. Spoilers for GoT are the worst. And don’t make me talk about the last point you talked about. I got mad when that happened. I didn’t need to know spoilers about that book that soon. It only comes out in4 months. I also didn’t need to know in which page it was happening for sure. People sometimes need to be more carefull with that kind of stuff.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      i think this post was all inspired by you! 😛 yeah, that girl is crazy, we’ve established that, right? because she didn’t even understand the wrong thing that she had done… which is weird. if someone points that out, you should understand it, and maybe even delete the tweet… it’s weird.

  8. thedaydreamingbookworm says:

    I’m usually good with avoiding spoilers, unless I actively seek them out myself, BUT for some reason, everyone thought it was ok to tweet ACOMAF spoilers on Twitter and include them in their GR statuses! LIKE NO! It was a mess.I know when ToG5 releases, I will have to avoid social media at all cost. It just sucks that others thought it was okay to spoil someone else’s reading experience. Although, I can’t complain about the fanart… 😍😍

    Great discussion!

  9. Esther says:

    I was once spoiled by fanart and didn’t notice until I read the part of the book they had illustrated, so all was good hahah.
    I don’t watch Game of Thrones anymore, but I know all about the plot just by people’s tweets. I don’t mind people talking of TV shows on the same night the episode aired because that’s when most people watch and share their thoughts, but they have to say they are live tweeting or mark them so I can avoid them or else I’m pissed. There should be a universal signal to mark spoilers like the copyright symbol but with a crossed whistle or something!

  10. crookshanks1995 says:

    I’ve never been spoiled by Fan Art, but Twitter is a real minefield! I think it’s quite selfish when people tweet spoilers, especially so soon after a book/ episode comes out… (And plain stupid if it’s the official account!)

  11. ravenblake99 says:

    I hate spoilers! It’s takes out all the suspense and fun. There’s lots of spoilers for ACOMAF especially fan arts and recently I accidentally came across one which made me so angry cause I haven’t read it yet, Anyway, I’ve finally decided to wait no more and now I’m nearly finished with the book and I’m quite loving it. 😀

  12. mamandapanda says:

    Spoilers!!! Arrgggg!!!! It has become an art to avoid them. And I’m also sooo sorry that you got spoiled for ACOMAF!!! Loved that book and I think if someone spoiled me, I would have cried….

  13. amortalreader1 says:

    I always try not to be a Spoiler Sue as I put it, if I think what I am writing is a spoiler I will write [spoiler] or simply just not expand and say ‘There was one moment in particular I loved’ or something like that. Because then that person may be intrigued to find out which moment it is,basically just writing a review that when people read the book for themselves they will go OH THAT’S IT.

    I hate spoilers myself, twitter annoys the heck out of me. I have to avoid it whenever my favourite shows are on, it’s particularly annoying when shows are on first in the US and then we have to wait for them to air in the UK. By the time that happens, I’ve ended up seeing it on my time-line!

    I sure hope I have never spoiled a book/film or tv show for anyone!

  14. Got My Book says:

    I am actually at a point in my life where I don’t mind spoilers, they help me decide whether or not to bother with something. That said, I absolutely believe that it is on the posting individual to at minimum tag something (although you are right that it doesn’t really work with images). Telling people to just avoid the internet is an unacceptable response.

    Most Recent Post: Critical Elements in Designing a Post Index?

Leave a Reply

