Forbidden (Tabitha Suzuma)

forbidden

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives — and the way they understand each other so completely — has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right.

As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.


I had been warned that this book would not be easy, but this was beyond anything I could expect. This book tore my heart apart. Ripped it out. Then tore it some more. It’s devastating, heartbreaking and so so sad. It has been over 2 weeks since I finished it, and I still haven’t managed to write a review…

As you can see from the blurb, this book is not easy, it deals with incest, so from the start you know that this won’t be a book you can easily deal with. I’ll try my best here.

forbidden_3

I loved the writing in this book, because it made me feel everything, the love, the hate, the hurt, the conflicting feelings that Maya and Lochan had, EVERYTHING. It took me almost a month to get through this book, but it wasn’t because it wasn’t fantastic, it was because it hurt too much.

forbidden_2

I loved these two siblings, especially Lochan. I thought he was such an unique, real and raw representation of a teen boy, who was burdened with everything that he was. I really liked Maya too, and although she shouldered a lot, I still thought that Lochan had gotten the shorter end of the stick. Willa and Tiffin were absolutely adorable little kids, and I could even understand where Kit’s anger was coming from, even if I ended up hating him a little.

forbidden_4

I honestly felt wrong for being happy for Lochan and Maya when they were together. So wrong. But it’s kind of an impossible situation. These are 2 young people who had to grow up only leaning on each other, because their parents were rubbish. Seriously, their mom should have ended up in jail for everything she did. It made me kind of understand how their relationship developed and the desperation behind it.

Ultimatly, I really loved and hated this book, the ending made me sob like a crazy person, but it was good, and I honestly couldn’t see a way in which this book could end with any semblance of a happy ending… it just wasn’t any way for that to happen, right?

forbidden_1

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book, but I do know that this book is not for everyone. The subject is too strong and a huge taboo, and it’s not an easy read.

So, have you read Forbidden? What did you think of it? Where you ok with the resolution of the book?

26 thoughts on “Forbidden (Tabitha Suzuma)

  1. Cátia says:

    Amazing review. I agree with everything you said. This book was so heartbreaking that it still hurts me and it has been two years. Talking with you about it when you were reading it didn’t help my heartbreak at all XD

  2. Aldii says:

    I read this book more than a year maybe two years ago and everytime I remember it I almost end up crying. That is why is one of my favourite books. I agree with everything it’s just heartbreaking but wornderful and at the same time you can feel the quote ‘How can something so wrong feel so right?’ because you shouldn’t feel the way you do but it’s impossible to not do it.
    I have to say that I still hate Kit a ‘bit’
    Lochan is just so amazing.
    I’m happy to see that you loved this!

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      ohhh, Kit… I still hate him a bit too, but Lochan understood his brother and Kit’s reaction chasing the car broke my heart so much. And the fact that he was there for the little ones at the end… bah… this book is sad, I’m almost crying again now 😦

  3. readbyroe says:

    I have wanted to read this book and your review makes me want to even more! I should pick it up sometime soon and brace for everything to come. Glad you liked it.

  4. Kendra says:

    Outstanding review! I actually just bought this book a few days ago. I have a ton of deadlines coming up, otherwise I’d be reading it right now! A few years ago, I heard many good and bad things about this book. I was able to pick it up for less than a dollar, so I figured I’d try it. Your review makes me want to read it even more!

  5. anovelglimpse says:

    “Ultimatly, I really loved and hated this book,…”
    I felt exactly this way. I couldn’t even rate it because I wouldn’t even know what to give it. The writing was great, but the subject was so horrible to read about.

    “…and I honestly couldn’t see a way in which this book could end with any semblance of a happy ending… it just wasn’t any way for that to happen, right?”
    This is so very true. There was never a happy ending in sight. 😦

    Nice review.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      thank you. I was expecting something bad to happen, but I wasn’t expecting exactly that, though i kind of predicted it… i just wasn’t expecting the whole situation that led to it. so sad 😦

  6. Allie says:

    Shoot. You’re making me want to read this soon… but I don’t think I’m still ready to read something that relates to incest. I have an older brother and it would be really gross 😦 Loved your review!

  7. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Wow. That book sounds SO intense. I love the quotes you put there, and everything just makes me want to read it, a lot. but it’s such a hard subject, I don’t know how I would feel about reading that. I have to think about it, but seeing just how emotional it made you…well, it makes me want to read it, A LOT.

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      you should read it Marie, it’s a really wonderful and heartbreaking book. I was expecting the subject itself to be a little more difficult to handle, but it wasn’t. the worst part for me were their situation as a whole. Read it!

  8. Kat Impossible says:

    One day I will read it. I am not sure when and I doubt I will ever emotionally be ready for it, but I do want to have it on my shelf. (especially the black cover – so gorgeous!)

Leave a Reply

