I’m still here (and I didn’t want to ruin my blogging streak!)

random_1

Guys, I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but even though I’m still posting everyday, I’ve been kind of absent from the blog and the blogging community. I feel super bad about that, and it’s been so hard on me =/, but it has just been impossible to spend more time in the world wide web – I had comments to answer from over 2 weeks ago… I suck!

The main reason for this absence is that I decided to come to the south of Portugal for the summer, to work for the summer months, and I’m staying with my sister (and her family), which means I seldom have time to socialize without it being in person – which is in part positive. Also, I did start working… and it’s grueling. I decided that for a couple of months, any kind of work would be cool, so I accepted a job at a local supermarket, and I went from being at home working on my PhD thesis, to being on my feet for 8 hours a day, carrying boxes and serving customers.

I have to say, even though I hated it for a couple of days, it’s kind of interesting to get completely out of my academic world and contact with people who have absolutely nothing to do with it. Even though I have to admit – and I hate to sound kind of snobbish about it – but I sometimes feel like my 13 years of college education make me too qualified so this type of job… and I’m only doing it because I know it’s temporary. Still, I like being able to prove to myself that I can do it, and that I can do something a bit more physical on a daily basis – I’m guessing I’m gonna lose weight by the end of this summer… eheh.

13782243_10153910608312901_8530965532123299714_n

A great thing about being here, in  Albufeira – south of Portugal, apart from being with my sister and nephew, is that the beach views are amazing, and it is a much calmer life than in Lisbon. Also, we have someone new at the house almost every week, and that’s kind of awesome.

I will have to find a balance soon between the new work life and my internet life, also because I do need to work on my thesis… I need to do that a lot! So, I hope I’ll have some more availability in the coming weeks, and I do hope that I won’t break my blogging streak, 😀 !

10 thoughts on “I’m still here (and I didn’t want to ruin my blogging streak!)

  1. Darth Veda says:

    Hey, I know how you feel. Sometimes, it’s kind of like a half hiatus where you’re super excited to blog and you literally prompt people to comment by asking their opinion, but then when you go to reply the comments and then you see everything you have to answer, you kind of just internally groan. So, I guess what I’m trying to say is, it’s okay, there’s no reason to apologize. Everyone’s been through these kind of half-hiatus things and everyone can relate. Just take your time. Even if it takes a while. I remember back in June/early July where I finally mustered up the will to answer all my comments and I actually found myself answering comments from JANUARY of this year. I was a little surprised, but I’m happy I was able to reply with enthusiasm in June rather than give a forced reply in January.

    ❤ Veda

  2. auroralgr says:

    Hey! All of this sounds amazing first of all – a hiatus for all the right reasons! Don’t feel too bad as life has a funny way of shaking us upside down from time to time. It’s so difficult to have a ‘balanced’ life and I struggle myself with this everyday. You lift those boxes and enjoy the beach! Just remember to read in there and all will work itself out! 😀

  3. Kat Impossible says:

    Oh boy, we are so on the same page this summer. I mean, it’s not a new job for me, but it sure is just as exhausting as yours. Good luck with your thesis. I hope you get to rest a little bit this summer 🙂 you deserve it!

  4. amortalreader1 says:

    I can understand how you feel right now, my job is taking over my life at the minute and i’ve really been avoiding my blog and reading other peoples blogs. I feel so bad because I really want to read others posts and update but I just don’t have time lately after being on your feet for 9 hours you just want to come home shower, get food and fall into bed ready for the next day. I actually can’t wait to go back to uni because I will be able to go back to just working weekends and whilst i’ll have uni work to do and things to read, I will be surrounded by friends.

    It looks a beautiful area by the photos you included! Good luck with the job and trying to balance everything 😀

Leave a Reply

