Frosh: Second Chances (Mónica B. Wagner)

frosh2

In FROSH: FIRST BLUSH, Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie spent their welcome week falling head over heels for each other — before totally falling apart. Now, in FROSH: SECOND CHANCES, they’ll have to pick up the pieces.

After ruining Grant’s football career (and her own reputation), Ellie has been trying to lie low — which means not making more enemies. But some students still want her to pay for what she did, and now, Ellie’s determined to fight back — and fight for Grant.

Grant is adjusting to his new reality: no more football means no more free passes in class, and definitely no more distractions; especially from Ellie, whom he misses even after she destroyed his world. Can he find a way to move on without her — and without football? 

Devon finally has it all: her brother’s sober and her boyfriend is an adorkable genius. But when her parents threaten to tear her and Charlie apart because he doesn’t ‘fit’ into their high society, she will go to dangerous lengths to prove that nothing — nothing — can defeat Devon Connors.

Charlie’s never questioned who he is: pre-med science geek, and now, Devon Connors’ boyfriend. But when he discovers a secret about his past, Charlie isn’t sure of anything — especially whether he can trust Devon with the truth.

Perfect for fans of Cora Carmack and Colleen Hoover, Monica B. Wagner’s sexy New Adult series follows these four characters all the way to winter break — when the only thing they’ll want more than first love is a second chance.


Once again, I read this book with Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much,  as a buddy read, so go to her blog in the next few days to read her take on this book.

Last year I read FROSH: First Blush and I enjoyed it, so when I saw this one on Netgalley, I requested it right away. Unfortunately this installment just wasn’t as enjoyable as the first one.

I enjoyed the writing, though having read over 200 books since the first book and this one, it definitly didn’t blow me away.

The characters felt very much the same, though that there was a general lack of development of every main character, especially Charlie and Grant. Charlie is my favorite character of the 4 and I was so sorry that he didn’t have the page time he deserved. Grant was unfortunately very one dimensional too on this one, dealing with the loss of football and wanting Ellie back… but he just didn’t convinced me… at all.

Devon… oh wow… I don’t even know where to go with her, because I kind of liked her, but it bothers me so much that she doesn’t realize the super bad things she’s doing, and hurting people she loves in the process. And Ellie… oh boy… Ellie annoyed me here, with her indecisions about Grant, and her inability to put people ahead of her beliefs. She annoyed me a bit, ok?

I wasn’t a huge fan of Ellie and Grant’s romance on this one either, though I liked Charlie and Devon’s relationship, and I wished it hadn’t been left in the open as it was. I do hope they both get some more resolution in the next book.

Overall, this wasn’t my favorite. I give it 3 stars because I already knew the characters and cared about them, but with the themes that were used in this book, I thought that it could have gone deeper than it went.

Have you read Frosh: First Blush and Frosh: Second Chances? What did you think about it?

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Frosh: Second Chances (Mónica B. Wagner)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s