Tempting Fate (Brinda Berry)

temptingfate

When two worlds collide, it can only be fate.

Collin knows trouble when he sees it. A beautiful girl crashing into his car? She should be flashing a neon DANGER sign. He knows better than to get involved with a fresh-faced babe who could break his already-tattered heart. After graduating from college, he’s on track to start over in a new place. He’s discovering what he wants from life, away from the shadow of his overbearing father and the betrayal of his cheating ex-fiancé.

Veronica’s home life morphs from trailer park to homeless after a bloody fight between her brother and her ex. She’s on the run from a situation that promises to be deadly. Without a home, money, or friends, she’s at Collin’s mercy.

Fate brought them together. Will a secret from her past tear them apart?


I’ve had this book in my To Read pile from Netgalley for a long while now, but I just couldn’t seem to find the time to get to it. This month’s readings are going well, so I thought it was time to get to some old ARCs, and this one caught my eye. Good thing too. I ended up really enjoying it.

First off: I loved the writing! The backbone of the story is slightly similar to Just One Moment, but the main difference for me was how much more this writing accomplished.

I really liked Collin and Veronica. Collin was just an all around good guy, who had been burned before, but his heart was huge. I liked him a lot. I liked how much he respected the people in his life, and how he respected Veronica’s wish to keep her secrets and own her own way, even when it drove him nuts.

Veronica was just such a strong girl! I was so shocked by what her happened to her in the days before she left home, and her reasons. Even as broken as she was, she still had the ability to trust people and see the best in people, and that was awesome.

The romance was so sweet! Oh boy, I was like “get together already, I’m shipping it like crazy!”. It doesn’t start off right away, and things evolve slowly at first, but by the end of the book, the commitment is strong, and even though I rolled my eyes at one particular thing there, I still really loved their connection. By the way, this is a low heat romance, it doesn’t show any explicit scenes.

The plot kept me on edge and not quite sure who to trust and what was gonna happen next, I liked it. I did hope that some things would have been explored further, such as some characters, such as Gunner, Beck or Raquel, and their relationships with the main characters. But overall, I loved this book, and even though I would have liked for it to dig a bit deeper, I still very much recommend it.

I sure will pick up some other books by this author, including the other 2 books of this series.

3 thoughts on “Tempting Fate (Brinda Berry)

Leave a Reply

