Twist (Kylie Scott)

When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot bearded bartender Joe Collins only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her.

Alex Parks is funny, fascinating, and pretty much everything he’s been looking for in a woman — except that she lives across the country. Soon they’re emailing up a storm and telling each other their deepest, darkest secrets…except the one that really matters.

When Alex pays Joe a surprise visit, however, they both discover that when it comes to love, it’s always better with a twist.


I read this book as a buddy read with  Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much, so go check out her blog in the next few days to read her take on this book.

This was my first book by Kylie Scott, though I’m curious about her previous series and her previous book of this series, so I’ll for sure read more from her. I did enjoy this one, I especially liked the writingTwist is told through Alex’s POV, with some snippets of the messages exchanged between her and Joe throughout their online “friendships”. While I really liked the way the book was told, because Alex was hilarious, I also felt like I didn’t get to know Joe that well, because I wasn’t getting his POV.

Which happened probably because I didn’t feel like the characters were totally fleshed out. Don’t get me wrong, I did like what I did see from Alex and Joe, they were truly awesome people and they were amazing together as well. But there are some things that happen that I truly didn’t get, that were never truly explained or explored, and that made it less enjoyable for me.

But, even though I thought some things should have been explored a little bit more, I did love the plot, and the connection between both main characters.

Overall a very enjoyable read, I’ll make sure to check out Kylie Scott’s other books. Even with some minor problems, this was a romance worth reading. Give it a shot.

2 thoughts on “Twist (Kylie Scott)

  1. amortalreader1 says:

    I think I will definitely give this a go, I like Kylie Scott’s writing. It’s an interesting synopsis too as he sees her on his brother’s account? Definitely want to find out more.
    Great Post!

Leave a Reply

