Daisy and the Front Man (Rebekah L. Purdy)

Hell hath no fury like a fangirl scorned…

When Daisy Morris finds out she’s spending the summer with her dad, bodyguard for Seconds to Juliet — the hottest boy band around — she knows it couldn’t be more perfect. But not because she’s a fan. Oh, no. Because ever since front man Trevin Jacobs completely humiliated her by standing her up for homecoming, Daisy is out for a little revenge. Yup, Trevin Jacobs is goin’ down…

When one of his bandmates bets Trevin he can’t make Daisy — the gorgeous but surprisingly ice-cold daughter of their bodyguard — fall in love with him, it’s a bet he can’t resist. Sure, Daisy won’t give him the time of day for reasons he can’t understand, and her dad’s hell-bent against his little girl spending time with a superstar. But the terms are set, and Trevin is determined to make Daisy fall…hard.

But every front man should know never to trust a girl with a pretty face…


I was supposed to read this book as a buddy read with  Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too, but she ended up finishing before I made a dent on it, eheh. Either way, go HERE to read her take on this book.

I will start by saying that this book was way better than Mia and the Bad Boy, and probably even better than Aimee and the Heartthrob, but I couldn’t give it 3 stars (like I gave Aimee), because it still couldn’t quite grab my attention, and I ended up skimming a huge portion of the chapters.

Let me tell you what I felt was better than the previous books, ok?

  • The writing was slightly better, though it was still in the same “formula” as the other ones, and so, not my favorite thing.
  • The relationship between the guys was finally good! I felt like they were truly friends and family, and all the boys had much more impact on this book than on the previous 2.
  • Trevin was definitly a better male MC. He was a good guy and it showed.
  • The romance was super super cute.

Now, I did give it 2.5 stars, so a lot of things still didn’t quite work for me…

  • The characters. While Trevin was a better character than the previous 2 guys, there was still shitty things there, like the fact that he even accepted the kind of bet he did with Ryder. It was just so wrong on so many levels, especially given that Daisy was the daughter of someone they liked, admired and respected.
  • Daisy… I don’t even know what to say about her. She was so childish sometimes, and the sort of stuff she pulled was deplorable. Look, I understand trust issues, I do, but her grandfather died… he didn’t “leave” her on his own free will…
  • I hated her whole “revenge” plot, because it honestly made no sense to me. She understood she was dealing with someone super busy and famous, and she still felt like he HAD to remember her. I don’t know… no logic.
  • While the romance was cute, it also developed super fast, as usual. Well… at least they both acted like the teens they were supposed to be.
  • While I did like that Trevin’s family life was talked about a bit, I felt like there should have been a little more about it. His Korean roots were strong, and I felt like it could have been a little bit more explored than just with food, you know?
  • The whole plot was a huge NO NO for me, unfortunately.

Overall, I did enjoy this one a bit, but not enough to make me want to read the final 2 books of this series. I’m sorry to say that I’m giving up on the Backstage Pass series, because it’s just not working for me. The characters should have been made a little bit older, and the plots less childish. It’s a huge contradiction to have the characters as they are described and hyper sexualized, and then have such plots. It’s just not for me.

So, guys, have you read this series? What are your thoughts on it?

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers, Awesome Colors and Hair Dye

ttt

Hello, welcome back to another Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is:

Cover Theme Freebie: literally anyyyything about covers….top ten covers that scream Spring, ten books with ice cream on the cover, ten books with blue covers, etc. etc. THIS ONE COULD BE REALLY FUN and I can’t wait to see how creative your lists are!

So… My mind has been kind of set on experimenting with hair colors. I never dyed my hair before, but last month I decolored some of it and dyed it turquoise :D, and it’s still green-ish, and I love it. I want to lighten it even more and put some bold colors on it. So I thought, why not make it my TTT theme this week? Eheh, here we go then, Ten Book Covers Colors I Would Totally Dye My Hair With.