Betting the Bad Boy (Stefanie London)

Self-confessed perfectionist Paige Thomas isn’t used to failing. But when a critical error in romantic judgment sends all her big city career dreams crashing down, she scrambles to find a job — any job — to make ends meet.

Noah Reid may as well have “trust issues” tattooed on his forehead. Being raised in the foster system didn’t give him a positive outlook on relationships, but now he’s looking after his best friend’s bar for one month, and he can’t do it alone.

Things get steamy when Noah hires Paige, but she’s determined not to repeat her mistakes and she bets Noah that she can keep her hands to herself while they’re working together. Too bad for her, Noah is an expert at breaking the rules…


Hi guys. I read this book as a buddy read with  Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too, so go to her blog tomorrow to check out her take on this book.

I wasn’t expecting to actually like this book as much as did, mostly because I knew nothing about this series or the author. But I did enjoy it a lot, and this book is different from most of my reads in one thing: the SETTING! Betting the Bad Boy is set in Melbourne, Australia 😀 .

The writing was pretty good on this one, even though it is told in dual POV in the third person, the characters’ inner thoughts were different enough that I was able to always know who was “talking” at a certain point. I do think this would have been even better if it was told in 1st person, but I always thing 1st person would be better in romances…

I loved Paige and Noah. Paige was an independent girl, who was fighting for the future she wanted, and wasn’t afraid to do whatever she had to to follow her dreams. While Noah had been burned so much in his past, that he thought he didn’t want to set roots, depending only on himself and afraid to be hurt by the people he loved. While Paige wanted commitment and a set plan, Noah wanted none of that. It was interesting to see how such different personalities meshed. Noah helped Paige be more open to possibilities, and Paige showed Noah how it was ok to want more from his life.

I really liked the romance, because the chemistry was very much there from the very beginning, and these two were so cute and right together. My only issue about it happened by the end of the book, and I really wish that the author had found some other way to “solve” their issues. But overall, I really really enjoyed Betting the Bad Boy, and I highly recommend this book. I now want to get my hands on book 1 and 2 of this series, because  want to know more about the characters.