Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Want More Of

ttt

Hello, welcome back to another Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is:

Ten Things On Our Reading Wishlist (topic originally done January 2014) — things you want to see more of in books — tropes, a time period, a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a certain plot, etc. All those things that make you think I WANT MORE OF THIS IN BOOKS!

Today I’m going for the obvious Things I Want More Of.


1. More women STEM a.k.a. Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

This one for me is a no brainer. As a woman in science myself, I never truly see myself represented when reading most books, and I would like to see some kick ass scientists portrayed.


2. Books set in Europe, Asia, etc, but with people native to said area

There is a general lack of books set anywhere else but the US or UK. We need to see characters and places from all over the world.


3. Discussions about the lack of proper Sex Ed in the US

I think this is a huge problem in the education system in the USA, so I would like to see more YA books acknowledging this.

John Oliver did a great show about it awhile back, so you should definitly check this out, if you haven’t yet:


4. Discussions about the lack of proper education on HUMAN EVOLUTION in the US

Yeah, this is one theme that is very close to my heart, as it is what I’ve been studying since I got into college, 14 years ago… Do you guys know that in some states in the USA Human Evolution is not taught in school? They’re actually forbidden to teach anything like the Evolution theory, and instead teach only Creationism to their youngsters.


5. Neurodiversity

I want more diversity in general, ok? But I do think that there needs to be more discussion and more understanding to Neurodiversity, because there is still such a huge stigma regarding this.


6. More racial diversity in NA and Romance

While I do think that NA has been improving greatly, I still feel it lacks some representation, especially in terms of racial diversity, and I would like to see more of it.


7. Bathroom uses

This is a very common “problem” in books, that I’m able to look over it when the writing is compelling and doesn’t pull your attention to those silly little places in time when a bathroom would be necessary, I mean, I read about so many girls that wake up, get dressed and leave their dorms or houses without taking a leak… am I the weird person here? Because I wake up with a super full bladder.


8. Periods

I’m looking at you NA and romance! I truly struggle to understand when in books the girls have sex all month long without even a mention to their periods. Look, I’m not saying you should truly mention them or whatever, I’m saying that it gives an unrealistic image. I was reading Addicted to You and I remember thinking “How does Lily maintain her sex addiction, sleeping around with STRANGERS? Doesn’t she interrupt her birth control pill?”… Yeah… I was thinking this while reading a book… Women have them, it’s natural, you can talk about it!


9. Academia settings in general

I would love to read more book set in the university setting, but not only the students, but those people following an Academic life. 😀


10. Nerdish books

Who doesn’t like books with a nerdy element to it? I know I do, and I like them a lot.

