Shadow and Bone (Leigh Bardugo)

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?


This was yet another book that has been on my shelf for ages, but I decided that it was finally time to get to it, and I’m glad I did. Once again, I’m keeping this review super short, ok?

So, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect of this story, but I liked it. The things I ended up liking the most was the worldbuilding and the writing. Which is great, because it makes me excited not only for the next 2 books on this series, but also Six of Crows.

The plot was sort of predictable at some points, but it was well achieved and I liked the story development.

There’s one thing that I’m not completely sold on, and that is the characters. I liked Alina a lot in the beginning of the book, but while at the little palace, Alina lost something in my opinion. It wasn’t that she seemed to change so drastically, it was how her priorities seemed to switch. She felt way too young at some points, being blinded by beauty and clothes and jewelries, and I sort of expected a little bit more from her. The Darkling is a mystery, but I know that’s how it’s supposed to be. I don’t dislike him though, so let’s see how it goes. Mal… well, I still don’t know… it’s like with the Darkling, my mind is not made up. So, I hope the characters develop more in the upcoming books, and that I grow to love at least some of them.

Overall, good start to this series, and let’s see how it goes from here on out.

Have you read The Grisha? What are your thoughts on this series?

4 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone (Leigh Bardugo)

  1. ACourtOfBooksAndLove says:

    I’ve only read Shadow and Bone and I’m not going to lie, the characters were not memorable for me. I couldn’t even remember Alina’s name until I read this review. The only character I’m interested in is The Darkling. I was more story on him. I want to know how his mind works. Maybe that’s just me. I will continue with the trilogy, though. I’m interested to see what happens.

  2. Emma The Book Lover says:

    I’ve only read this first one but kind of forgot the whole thing. I definitely want to reread it before continuing. I am dying to read Six of Crows thought!!! But I feel the need to read the Grisha series first!

Leave a Reply

