Frosh: Second Chances (Mónica B. Wagner)

frosh2

In FROSH: FIRST BLUSH, Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie spent their welcome week falling head over heels for each other — before totally falling apart. Now, in FROSH: SECOND CHANCES, they’ll have to pick up the pieces.

After ruining Grant’s football career (and her own reputation), Ellie has been trying to lie low — which means not making more enemies. But some students still want her to pay for what she did, and now, Ellie’s determined to fight back — and fight for Grant.

Grant is adjusting to his new reality: no more football means no more free passes in class, and definitely no more distractions; especially from Ellie, whom he misses even after she destroyed his world. Can he find a way to move on without her — and without football? 

Devon finally has it all: her brother’s sober and her boyfriend is an adorkable genius. But when her parents threaten to tear her and Charlie apart because he doesn’t ‘fit’ into their high society, she will go to dangerous lengths to prove that nothing — nothing — can defeat Devon Connors.

Charlie’s never questioned who he is: pre-med science geek, and now, Devon Connors’ boyfriend. But when he discovers a secret about his past, Charlie isn’t sure of anything — especially whether he can trust Devon with the truth.

Perfect for fans of Cora Carmack and Colleen Hoover, Monica B. Wagner’s sexy New Adult series follows these four characters all the way to winter break — when the only thing they’ll want more than first love is a second chance.


Once again, I read this book with Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much,  as a buddy read, so go to her blog in the next few days to read her take on this book.

Last year I read FROSH: First Blush and I enjoyed it, so when I saw this one on Netgalley, I requested it right away. Unfortunately this installment just wasn’t as enjoyable as the first one.

I enjoyed the writing, though having read over 200 books since the first book and this one, it definitly didn’t blow me away.

The characters felt very much the same, though that there was a general lack of development of every main character, especially Charlie and Grant. Charlie is my favorite character of the 4 and I was so sorry that he didn’t have the page time he deserved. Grant was unfortunately very one dimensional too on this one, dealing with the loss of football and wanting Ellie back… but he just didn’t convinced me… at all.

Devon… oh wow… I don’t even know where to go with her, because I kind of liked her, but it bothers me so much that she doesn’t realize the super bad things she’s doing, and hurting people she loves in the process. And Ellie… oh boy… Ellie annoyed me here, with her indecisions about Grant, and her inability to put people ahead of her beliefs. She annoyed me a bit, ok?

I wasn’t a huge fan of Ellie and Grant’s romance on this one either, though I liked Charlie and Devon’s relationship, and I wished it hadn’t been left in the open as it was. I do hope they both get some more resolution in the next book.

Overall, this wasn’t my favorite. I give it 3 stars because I already knew the characters and cared about them, but with the themes that were used in this book, I thought that it could have gone deeper than it went.

Have you read Frosh: First Blush and Frosh: Second Chances? What did you think about it?

Top Ten Tuesday: New Authors I Want More Of

top 10 tuesday

Hello, welcome back to another Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is:

Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel (because when you love a debut you just are ITCHING to get your hands on the author’s second book) or Top Ten Sophomore Novels That I Loved Just As Much If Not More As The Author’s Debut (no one hit wonders heeeere!)

I’m going with Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel. 😀


1. Becky Albertalli

I loved Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, and I can’t wait to read more from her. Becky’s writing is just amazing, and her characters were great, so whatever she throws at us next, I’m ready!

2. Sabaa Tahir

Again, An Ember in the Ashes is just fabulous, so it’s obvious that I’m itching to read anything more that Sabaa Tahir publishes – sure, the fact that it will be more Laia and Elias doesn’t hurt.

3. Marci Lyn Curtis

So people, have you read The One Thing yet? No? What are you waiting for? I’ve told you time and time again how amazing it is! Ok, now seriously, it is amazing, Marci Lyn Curtis had me hooked immediately to this book, and I’m really excited about her next project.

4. Adam Silvera

I just hope he doesn’t break my heart again, like he did with More Happy Than Not

5. Jasmine Warga

I really loved My Heart and Other Black Holes, so yep, I’m looking forward to Jasmine Warga’s next book, for sure!

6. Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword is almost here! Sure, Victoria has released a novella since Red Queen, but I’m not counting that. Her second novel will be Glass Sword and I can’t wait.

7. Randy Ribay

I enjoyed his debut novel, An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes, so I’m curious to see what he’ll write next 🙂 .

8. Max Wirestone 

I really liked The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss, which I read last month, and I wanted more from these characters. So I was super stoked when Max Wirestone confirmed me on twitter that this will be a series :D.

 9. Mónica B. Wagner

Mónica’s debut novel was Frosh: First Blush, which I read just last month and really enjoyed, so I’m looking forward to read her next book, which will be a continuation of the first. I can’t wait to know what happens next because the book ended with a cliffhanger 😐 .

Honorable Mention:

10. Renée Ahdieh

Why is this one separated from the rest you ask? Why, because The Wrath and the Dawn is not Renée’s first novel, but it’s the one that has me craving for a lot more. Apparently her first book is called Fanfare, and it came out in 2011.

October Wrap-Up

Oct_Wrap_up

Hello people, we’re here today for my monthly wrap-up. Yep. Another month gone. This whole year is going by way too fast… either way, let’s get on with this wrap-up.

In my October TBR I proposed myself to read 10 books this month, and in fact I was able to read 11. However, I only read 6 from my original TBR list… UUUPPPPSSSS! I managed to read a lot while traveling, but I decided to tackle my Netgalley TBR list, leaving some not so urgent books to read at a later time. So, the books I read this month:

octoberwrapup

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer  4stars

2. Rikki by Abigail Strom  3-7

3. The New Year’s Wish by Dani-Lyn Alexander  2-3

4. A Summer Like No Other by Elodie Nowodazkij  4stars

5. Always Second Best by Elodie Nowodazkij  3-7

6. This Song Is (Not) for You by Laura Nowlin  3-5

7. The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone  4-2

8. Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier  4-5

9. Frosh: First Blush by Mónica B. Wagner  3-5

10. The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher  4-5

11. Angelfall by Susan Ee  4-5


Eleven books was great 😀 , especially considering that I was traveling for half the month. And I’m super happy because even traveling, I managed to write 60 posts this month, which means almost 2 per day… and I wrote reviews for all of my books, even if some are still not up.

Tomorrow I’ll post my November TBR 😀 .

Frosh: First Blush (Frosh #1) (Mónica B. Wagner)

During welcome week at Hillson University, the FROSH will hit the fan. 

Type-A aspiring journalist Ellie plans to take freshman year by storm. But hell-bent on breaking a huge on-campus scandal, she risks becoming one herself—and getting the mysterious, heart-melting QB in serious trouble.  

Grant, star quarterback and charismatic chick-magnet, is hiding a life-altering secret. The last thing he needs is an overeager (absolutely adorable) journalist asking questions. He’s got a reputation to protect. 

High-society legacy student Devon is ready to catch the football hottie of her dreams. If the tabloids feature her with the “it” boy on her arm, her tainted past will be buried—or so she thinks. 

Charlie, pre-med, is done being the sweet and funny geek that girls like Devon ignore. But if he tries to impress her with a new edgy, spontaneous attitude, will his heart end up in the emergency room? 

FROSH intertwines the stories of Ellie, Grant, Devon, and Charlie in Mónica B. Wagner’s sexy NA debut series, about falling in love and falling apart.

Pub Date: October 20, 2015 by The Studio/ Paper Lantern Lit

I received an eArc from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


This book is funny and sexy and I had a great time reading it. However, given that you have 4 different main characters, it wasn’t as fast a read as I was expecting, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

I really liked the four main characters, though I was getting a little exasperated by Ellie, who is very quick to come to her own conclusions and opinions and doesn’t really gives a chance for people to explain themselves. Ellie is lucky though, because Grant is patient enough to try to explain himself several times – seriously, Grant a bit swoon-worthy. Then Devon, I liked her! She’s so different 😀 and her relationship with Charlie is just the best. I was smiling the whole time it was one of their POVs, because Charlie is adorable!

I liked the romance a lot, it involved a lot of instant-attraction, and that’s just fine. Also, did I mention that this book is hot? Like HOT HOT! Devon’s first scene with Charlie? You’ll want a fan by your side and to not be in public for that bit… just saying…

I really liked how everything progressed, but as I said, Ellie was a little exasperating and I felt that a lot of the unnecessary drama was created by her, and I was finding it a bit much. But I really loved when each of our MC interacted with each other.

And Tanner… oh Tanner… I saw you coming miles away… “all for the story, right?“… *sigh*

And then… CLIFFHANGER!!! OMG!!! What’s going to happen next? I need to know, because I like Grant to much to see him suffer. And just when he and Ellie had sorted things out…

This book was great fun (even if I was wishing I could bang Ellie’s head into the walls sometimes). I would not only recommend it, but I will be eagerly awaiting for its sequel.

Rating: 3.5 Stars

3-5