Blog Tour: Legs (Kelly Siskind)

Title: Legs
Series: One Wild Wish #1
Author: Kelly Siskind
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Release Date: September 27, 2017


Review:

Running into your one-night stand is a special kind of awkward. Competing against him in a wine tasting contest is delicious torment…

On Rachel’s twenty-seventh birthday, she wishes to finally find a rewarding job. What she doesn’t wish is to drink a boatload of wine, sleep with a tattooed bad boy, and drunk email her boss in one glorious, career-ending move. But the fiasco pushes her to pursue a career inspired by her late father’s love of wine: sommelier.

Unfortunately, she’s competing against her infuriating one-night stand, a man as intoxicating as a Pinot Noir.

Two years ago, Jimmy was set to inherit his family winery. Then it got ripped from his grasp. To close that dark chapter of his life, he plans to win a local sommelier contest and use the press to expose his family’s tainted wines.

Jimmy loves studying the streaks of alcohol that cling to a wineglass, known as the wine’s “legs,” but other shapely legs are stealing his focus. Tantalizing legs. Legs that had wrapped around his waist for one wild night. Jimmy, sadly, has a weakness for legs.

He also hates to lose.

LEGS is a full-length, standalone Smart, Sexy Romantic Comedy with a swoony Happily Ever After. No cheating or cliff-hangers here! Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Avery Flynn, Alice Clayton, Emma Chase, and Lauren Blakely.

Amazon | Kobo | iBooks | Universal | Goodreads


Once again, I really enjoyed Kelly Siskind’s writing. When I realized she was about to release a new book, I got super excited, and once again I was not disappointed. Though I will admit that this book felt a bit more serious than her previous ones, and I missed a bit of the humour that was such a big part of Kelly’s previous work.

I really liked the 2 main characters. They were both a little lost for their own reasons and in their own ways, but they were such strong people. I loved how the relationship and the bond between them made them stronger and more determined. How they found themselves not because of each other, but because they had the support and the love.

Their relationship was great, with awesome communication (most of the time) and great chemistry too. And obviously, great hot and steamy moments. I really loved that Jimmy was always all in… I have a soft spot when the guys are all for a relationship.

The fall out was a bit predictable, but still packed a punch. I just wanted them to overcome all the stuff and be happy again.

I have to say that Rachel and her group of friends reminded me a bit of Kelly Siskind’s previous trilogy, Over the Top, which had a similar trio of girlfriends… I don’t know why, but their interactions just reminded me of it.

Overall, another great book from one of my favorite authors. Can’t wait to see what else this series will bring.


Giveaway: 

 


Meet the Author:

Kelly is the author of CHASING CRAZY, MY PERFECT MISTAKE, A FINE MESS, and HOOKED ON TROUBLE, the latter three being part of her Over the Top series. A small-town girl at heart, she moved from the city to open a cheese shop with her husband in northern Ontario. When she’s not neck deep in cheese or out hiking, you can find her, notepad in hand, scribbling down one of the many plot bunnies bouncing around in her head. She’s also an incurable romantic, devouring romance novels into the wee hours of the morning.



 HOSTED BY:

Decidedly With Baby (Stina Lindenblatt)

One-Night Stand Rule #1: always check the condom’s expiry date.

Oops. 

Career-orientated Holly Whittaker has a plan, and being a mom is not part of it. Her not-quite-a-fairytale childhood involved being brought up by thirty nannies (yes, thirty!), so what the heck does she know about being a mom anyway?

Playboy Josh Hoffer has no room in his life for a family or steady girlfriend. His hockey career comes first. Life is tough when you’re on the road more times than you’re not. Besides, what does he know about diapers and baby yoga and fairytale princesses?

After Holly receives some unexpected bad news, she’s looking to blow off a little steam, and hot sex with Mr. No Commitment himself fits the bill just fine. But sex is never without consequences, and this time it’s more than her heart that is at stake. This time, Mr. No Commitment and Ms. Career need to figure out what’s really important to them and find room in their heart for another — plus one.

Warning: Contains naughty texts, shower sex, and enough profanities to fill an oversized swear-word jar.


Last year, I read the first book of this series, Decidedly Off Limits, and while I enjoyed it, it didn’t blew me away. I enjoyed the writing, but something felt off story wise.

I kind of had the reverse problem with this book. I had a very very hard time connecting with the writing, and that messed up my enjoyment of Decidedly With Baby. Much like the first book, this second one is told like the main characters are actively telling YOU the story, so there were a lot of rhetorical questions and expressions of direct speech. But you know when something is just a bit too much? Yep, that’s what it felt to me, too fucking much. It felt repetitive and tiring. While I thought it was cool in the first few chapters, it became quite boring and turned the book into a slow read for me.

But I did like the story. I have to say that I find accidental pregnancies stories generally quite funny, and I really liked the major plot on this book.

I also really liked the characters. I have to admit that my recollections of book one are very limited, because I didn’t quite remember everyone, but I did end up really liking Holly and Josh. I liked that they were friends before anything happened, and their relationship would have been more, with or without a baby, and I find that important. I liked that even though they were both very dedicated to their careers, they had their priorities straight, and they put the baby in front of anything else.

I was a bit annoyed at Holly for a bit, because she was so headstrong, and refused to see what was right in front of her. But I did understand it, and I think her reactions were true to herself.

I wasn’t 100% satisfied with the end though, but yeah… I got it too.

I loved the chemistry between Holly and Josh, their friendship and their honesty. I liked that they actually spoke with each other. And their scenes together were HOT.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and I really liked the story. The writing style threw me off a little, but I’ll keep reading Stina’s nooks, each one is different from the other, eheh.

March Book Haul

marchbookhaul

Hey! I got a ton of books this month, 32 to be exact, but mostly eBooks or review copies. Let me show you what I hauled.


marchtbr_1

At the first week of the month I went into Barcelona, to my beloved bookstore, and saw a single copy of The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker, I picked it up immediately and marched to the register. We were still almost a week from Lady Midnight release date, but I decided to ask if they were going to receive the book right away, because if not, I was ordering it online. The lady was super nice, and she informed me that they had received 2 copies of the book that morning, one was already sold, but the other was available, and if I wanted it… did I ever?! Of course! So, I bought Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare before it came out and I love it!

Last, but certainly not least, Kat @Life and Other Disasters had a small problem with her order of Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell, and ended up receiving 50 copies of the book instead of one. And because she’s the best, she sent me one. To be honest, I still haven’t opened it, since it is in Portugal and I am not, but I just couldn’t not mention it. Also, she just achieved 500 WordPress followers on her blog, and she’s hosting a giveaway that you can check out here.


marchtbr_2

This month I took advantage of a lot of kindle deals, and bought some books that I just needed to read…


marchtbr_3

I requested a lot of ARCs from Netgalley this month, and got a few books from the authors as well. Even though these are a lot of review copies, I already read 8 of them during this month, and I’m on my way to finishing the 9th, so all is good.