July & August Reads

Hello!!! I really need to be better at posting. I’ve been looking at my pc for days and days, but I’ll be 100% honest. After spending way over 8 hours a day in front of my PC working in cooperate? Yeah, I don’t really wanna open my personal PC… But then I miss this… *sigh*

So, when I last posted I mentioned I was going to re-read the Winston Brothers series, and that’s exactly what I did in July. I devoured the full series and it still stands true that this is one of my all time favourite series. It’s not easy for all the books in a series to be consistently good, especially with such different characters, but these brothers (and sister) are amazing.

I rated all books between 4 and 5 stars (just like the first time I read them). The narration makes these books that much better. I understand audiobooks might not be for everyone, but Cletus… ❤

Right before I finished the series above, I started Hot Stuff by Max Monroe, while waiting for my first dose of the Covid-19 vaccine, so I also finished it quickly and found it enjoyable. I don’t know why, but it didn’t hit quite like the first book in the series, but overall really enjoyable.

I felt like the whole conflict of the book, and the hesitancy of Lauren to tell her father she was with Garrett, lasted way too long. Not the best resolution either. But other than that, super funny book, as usual for Max Monroe.

At this point I had on my Scribd a book series that I loved, but had never finished, because it was fantasy, and I hadn’t read a fantasy book in years. Much less listened to one. So I was highly intrigued, and decided to embark on the journey of listening to whole ACOTAR series.

And OH MY GOD! I had missed fantasy and hadn’t even realized it. I missed the world building and the different world rules, and Rhys…

I had read both the first and second book back in the day, but never had read ACOWAR, and I realized I did not remember a lot of things, so this was a whole experience. I was honestly a big hesitant to listen to it in audio form, as until this point, I’ve been sticking to romance in audio, but I was honestly super pleasantly surprised.

My thoughts at this point while reading book 1 were “WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING WHEN I REALLY LIKED THIS CHARACTER?” eheh!! So let me just sum up my feelings (just skip it if you don’t want spoilers):

  • Why did I ever liked Tamlin?
  • Lucien needs to grow a spine
  • I understand Lucien cannot do more – he has nothing
  • Lucien deserves better
  • WTF Tamlin and the whole thing under the mountain?
  • Rhys ❤
  • Rhys and Feyre need to communicate better
  • Nevermind previous point
  • I love Nesta – she’s a bit**, but she’s awesome
  • Feyre… WOW
  • I like Elain in 1 scene… ONE
  • Azriel needs a happy ending…
  • … and it better not be with Elain
  • Highly intrigued about Eris…
  • Again, Lucien deserved better
  • Helion, I need more of Helion
  • Tamlin :@
  • Nessian… ❤ cute
  • We need more Mor
  • 500 years with your family carrying that without trusting them enough to be open about it. I don’t understand…
  • … so I need more Mor
  • Azriel deserves better
  • A Court of Silver Flames… oh well… it just went from mildly spice, to holy sh**
  • Emerie and Gwyn and Nesta ❤ loved the friendship

Now I have a problem… I really want the following books 😦 Guess it’s the waiting game now.

At this point my Tik Tok‘s algorithm was showing me plenty of smut… I guess spending time entering book tok because of Nessian does that to the thing. So I didn’t know what to read next. Devil in Disguise (The Ravenels) had just become available on Scribd, so I listened to it during 1 afternoon.

This was my least favourite book of the series so far, the instalove did not work for me at all. It took me awhile to feel the connection between the characters, and it did not help that Keir’s actions were not consistent. I just was not sold :(, which left me sad because I do love Lisa Kleypas books.

This is the moment I don’t quite know what happened, and I started to read a series I thought I would never ever ever touch… but more to that on my next post 😉 …

5 thoughts on “July & August Reads

  1. anovelglimpse says:

    A reread of the Winston Brothers series sounds fun! Especially after reading Folking Around. Did you read that one yet? I loved it. I also loved Hot Stuff, but I can understand why it might not have been a hit. Have you read their book The Bet yet? It’s a spin-off for Winnie’s (Scoring a Billionaire) and I loved it because it felt like that original series. Congrats on a great month!…and love seeing you posting!

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    I really dropped all interest for reading Maas books, but I remember thinking “How on earth did you ever like Tamlin?” too haha Lucien used to be one of my faves, but in ACOWAR that changed too … I don’t know. A lot of men in that series were just truly disappointing haha

    • My Tiny Obsessions says:

      that happened for me for the longest time, now my tik tok only shows me stuff about books, and book tok is crazy about ACOTAR men… oh well. i wanna go back to ToG, because I only read until book 3, but now i’m scared my Rowan will be disappointing 😦

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.