Secrets of a Summer Night (Lisa Kleypas)

Four young ladies at the side of the ballroom make a pact to help each other find husbands . . . no matter what it takes

Proud and beautiful Annabelle Peyton could have her pick of suitors — if only she had a dowry. Her family is on the brink of disaster, and the only way Annabelle can save them is to marry a wealthy man. Unfortunately her most persistent admirer is the brash Simon Hunt, a handsome and ambitious entrepreneur who wants her as his mistress.

Annabelle is determined to resist Simon’s wicked propositions, but she can’t deny her attraction to the boldly seductive rogue, any more than he can resist the challenge she presents. As they try to outmaneuver each other, they find themselves surrendering to a love more powerful than they could have ever imagined. But fate may have other plans — and it will take all of Annabelle’s courage to face a peril that could destroy everything she holds dear.


You know I’ve been blogging somewhere else, right? So, Nick and Lisa, my co-bloggers at Romances Ever After, “made me” read historical romances. My first one was The Duchess Deal, by Tessa Dare, and I freaking loved it. So much, that it was one of my favorite books of the year.

I decided to listen to the audiobook for this one, because it’s third person, and I’ve come to realise that I do better on audio if the book is on third person. And somehow, historical romance goes well with audio.

The writing is amazing, and I thought it was better, the further along I was in the book. It was funny, and so interesting.

And the story, OMG, I need more of these historical romances. The plot was amazing! Kind of enemies to lovers romance, but with so much heart! I loved this story so much. First of all, I loved the friendship between the wallflowers, the group got along super well, and they complemented each other perfectly. Then, the connection between Simon Hunt and Annabelle Peyton is amazeballs. The romance grew slowly but surely, and I really liked how her views of him and the world they both lived in change throughout their relationship. It was quite a shift in her views, and it showed how much she had grown throughout the book. It was super well done. I loved Simon to be honest, how he wasn’t bothered by conventions, and was always true to himself.

The story kind of made me tear up at the end, but I was so happy with the ending. I can’t wait to get my hands on the second audiobook 😀 .

So, guys, have you read this one yet? Have you read any other historical romances you want to recommend me?

One thought on “Secrets of a Summer Night (Lisa Kleypas)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.