MARVEL has found its Peter Parker

It’s done. After months of rumors and castings, MARVEL has finally announced that 19 year old Tom Holland will be the next Spider-Man.

spiderman

A lot of people seem to not be happy about this casting, either because Tom looks so young, or because they feel a reboot wasn’t necessary, or just because he’s unknown…

I have to be honest, I didn’t want a reboot, I loved Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker, and I’m super sad to see him go. That said, Marvel had announced a while back that they wanted a younger Spider-Man, so the reboot kind of makes sense. I foolishly hoped that they would opt for Miles Morales as Spidey and not Peter Parker, but my hope went away as soon as they released the frontrunners for the role…

Then from that list I was kind of hoping for Charlie Rowe, because I love him to bits, but I knew it was a long shot, Asa Butterfield was the favorite. But now they announced that Tom Holland actually got it… so, how about that?!

I don’t have a problem with Tom looking young, or with the fact that he’s mostly unknown – I think this is good actually – I just don’t see him as Peter Parker, not the Peter that Andrew Garfield taught me to love…

Best of luck to him.

9 thoughts on “MARVEL has found its Peter Parker

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    I’ve only seen him in How We Live Now before and he wasn’t the person I most paid attention to in that movie, so I’m glad he has somewhat of a clean slate for me. I’m totally okay with that choice.

    • MyTinyObsessions says:

      I’m still adjusting. He might turn out great, and I’m kind of glad that I never saw him before, because he does LOOK very young. But I’ll wait for Captain America: Civil War to actually decide if I like him… I’m already missing Andrew though…

        • MyTinyObsessions says:

          I get that he had to look younger, it will be good, they put the line on younger than 20… I’m fine with that. But he kind of looks 14 (not 19, which is his age) and I find it kind of disturbing… I mean, Charlie Rowe is also 19, looks like a teen, but doesn’t look disturbingly young… am I making any sense?

          I don’t know… can’t picture him as Peter Parker yet, I think there have been way too many Peter Parkers in the recent past, and I would have rather that they had gone with the Miles Morales storyline, more now that Marvel comics announced that he will be the main spidey from now on…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.