The Dim Sum Book Tag

 

booktag_dimsum

The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild of Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

I was tagged to do this by Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @Reading With Jenna (the creators) and latter Ashley @Socially Awkward Bookworm. Thank you guys!!! By the way, let me just say, each time I see this tag I get hungry! I never had Dim Sum, though I really want to, but I could only find 3 places in Barcelona that technically have it, and they’re all pretty far away from where I live… but I guess I’ll have to go there soon.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

And, when doing this tag, please link back to both posts of Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @Reading With Jenna, so they can add you to a list of people who have completed the tag!


Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold

For this I think I’ll go with The New Year’s Wish by Dani-Lyn Alexander, which is coming out on December 1st.

I read this when I arrived at Korea and it was an easy and fast read, but it didn’t convince me.It started off ok, but then it just… NO…


Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea

Land and Sea… wow, this was more complicated than I had anticipated! I’ll go with Love in the Time of Global Warming by Francesca Lia Block, which is kind of a re-telling of  Homer’s Odyssey, and it has elements of both land and sea. I didn’t find this book anything special, and I still need to find the courage to read its sequel.


Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. traits? skills? morally ambiguous?)

My first thought was immediately Celaena/Aelin from Throne of Glass, but I use that a lot, so I’m going with Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. Khalid is not easy to read and there’s little doubt that he’s morally ambiguous, given that, you know, he had murdered all of his wives until Shazi…


Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away

You know, transparent blurbs aren’t always a bad thing. For this one I’ll go with another ARC I read recently – thank God for Netgalley – Something in the Air by Marie Landry. The blurb does say what happens, and there isn’t any plot twist or really any surprise in this book.


Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. message? depth? controversy?)

Hmmmm… Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell! At first light it is a fluffy contemporary (at least that’s what I thought when I picked it up), but in reality is much more than that. It tells us that it’s ok to be different, it’s ok to be afraid of change and scared of life. I love this book so much!


Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek (A Memoir) by Maya Van Wagenen. So, people, this book has a rating of 4.07 on Goodreads, and all I can think is HOW?!

I really didn’t like it at all, I appreciate the afford and the experience that Maya did, but the whole premise felt so wrong to me. Here’s my review if you want to check it out.


Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice:  A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged

I hardly ever get books as presents, and I usually only buy books for my grandmother, and they always come in the store bag. But I received the Harry Potter Schoolbooks Box Set: Two Classic Books from the Library of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry by J.K. Rowling as a present from a friend of mine. It came one day on the mail, from amazon, and I had no idea what I was opening 😀 .


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly

Let’s see…

Finding Perfect by Kendra C. Highley. It’s full of clichés and well known formulas, but it works, and it’s cute and nice and such a great read.


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination

Somehow when I think of this book I think of fast food… in a very good way! The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher takes place at a Comic Book convention, so my brain goes automatically to good greasy food. By the way, the book is awesome.


Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over

My edition of Little Women by Louisa May Alcott is embossed and so beautiful and I love to run my fingers through it. And it has deckled edges…

Now I only have to actually read it…


IMG_20151121_184352Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around (take a picture!)

My backpack! I use my backpack each day to come to work/university – I have to carry my laptop, unfortunately. The small compartment is reserved for the book I’m reading at the moment or my Kindle.


Now I Tag:

Enjoy!!! I’m done 😀 and hungry!!!!

22 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    Oh no! It’s so devastating that there aren’t any dim sum places near you. Have some Spanish tapas instead! I’m sure there are plenty of those around haha. And when I saw The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak, I immediately thought of fast food as well!! Like pizza or fries.

  2. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts says:

    Thanks for participating :D! You MUST try dim sum one day! I kept finding myself getting confused with “The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak” with “Zac and Mia” — Not to mention both of Contemporary YA. I’m pretty sure I convinced someone that the cover design for TIToAnZ was “redid” even though I was clearly thinking of the teal/pink design of Zac and Mia. Such a fail LOL.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.