Blog Tour: Any Boy But You (Julie Hammerle)

anyboybutyoutour

anyboybutyou

Elena Chestnut has been chatting with an anonymous boy late into the night. It’s a very You’ve Got Mail situation, and she has no idea who he is. He can’t be Oliver Prince, hot-and-bashful son of the family running the rival sporting goods store. Their fancy sales strategies are driving Elena’s family out of business. Elena’s mystery boy has teamed up with her in their latest sales strategy, an augmented reality game, to help her win the grand-prize plane tickets. Money’s so tight Elena’s going to miss senior year spring break with her friends if she can’t win this game. 

The girl Oliver’s fallen head-over-heels for online had better not be Elena Chestnut. She’s his angry, vindictive Latin tutor, the daughter of his dad’s business rival, and the one girl he’d never even think of kissing. She’s definitely not his online crush, because that girl is funny, sweet, and perfect.

When Oliver asks to reveal their names at the Valentine’s Day dance, their IRL relationship will either ruin what they have online, or they’ll discover just how thin the line between love and hate really is.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains swearing, snowball fights, and sexual tension that could melt the North Pole. Read at your own risk.

Goodreads | Google Play | BAM | Amazon | Indies | B&N| Kobo | TBD | iBooks | Blog Tour


This was yet another book that was part of my “I don’t have a clue how many books I’ve requested for February, but it should be fine“… SPOILER ALERT: It wasn’t! I ended up with way too many books to read this month, but I digress. This sounded cute and different, so I’m glad I got to read it.

This was my first book by Julie Hammerle and I did enjoy the writing. The book is told in dual POV, on the third person.

One of the biggest differences from other YA cute contemporary romances, is the fact that a lot is going on in this book. The story has a lot of different elements, and while that makes the story well rounded and complex, it also made the plot very slow. A little bit too slow for my taste.

I liked the story of the feud, though it irked me a bit the amount of hate that Elena and Oliver had between them. This made it difficult to connect and like them sometimes, especially Elena, who was constantly rude and irrational when it came to Oliver, even when he was nothing but nice and honest with her. The fact that I didn’t really connect with the characters, took a bit away from my connection with the book itself.

One of my favorite parts of the book was Harper, and I’m really hoping book 2 is about her. But again, while I enjoyed the moments between Elena and Harper, who had been BFFs for a long time, it was the new friendship between Oliver and Harper that won my heart. Oliver was an introvert who didn’t quite know how to make friends, but he cared about Harper and he helped her sort out her feelings and thoughts without ever judging or pressuring her. I really really loved these moments.

The romance was cute, and I liked that they got to know each other well through the chat before finding out who they were, because they wouldn’t have given each other the chance otherwise. But I was not 100% convinced on their chemistry. Still, they had some pretty cute moments.

Overall this was a fun and cute book, with a sort of complex plot and lots of elements. It’s definitly worth a read.


Giveaway:

  • One (1) winner will receive a signed copy of The Sound of Us by Julie Hammerle (US ONLY) (click on the image below)

rafflecopter


About the Author:

julie-hammerleJulie Hammerle is the author of The Sound of Us, which will be published by Entangled Teen on June 7, 2016. Before settling down to write “for real,” she studied opera, taught Latin, and held her real estate license for one hot minute. Currently, she writes about TV on her blog Hammervision, ropes people into conversations about Game of Thrones, and makes excuses to avoid the gym. Her favorite YA-centric TV shows include 90210 (original spice), Felicity, and Freaks and Geeks. Her iPod reads like a 1997 Lilith Fair set list.

She lives in Chicago with her husband, two kids, and a dog. They named the dog Indiana.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instragram | Goodreads


chapter-by-chapter-blog-tour-button

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Any Boy But You (Julie Hammerle)

  1. Syc @ The Lit Mermaid says:

    Any boy but you ha. Now, I can have that boy to myself cause girl, that guy in the cover looks so cute. 😍
    I don’t think I’ll read this book because irrational characters irritate me to death. This would have been a slow, painful death for me.

Leave a Reply

