My Top 15 Movie Couples

»»»»»»» 2014 Top 15 Movie Couples: 15 to 11, 10 to 6; 5 to 1 «««««««

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day, which meant that lists of great TV and movie couples popped up all day long on my Facebook page. So I decided to go with the trend and make my one of my own… this is just the movies one, because I feel you can’t really mix the 2 things…

moviestop20

1. Ron Weasley & Hermione Granger (Rupert Grint & Emma Watson) – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

I absolutely love the Harry Potter series! And after 8 long years, 7 books, 8 movies, it finally happened! It was pretty obvious to everyone since the moment they felt awkward about hugging in HP and the Chamber of Secrets (the second year). So when it happened I was radiant, the only thing that threw me off was that in the movie they changed the situation, so i’m there in the middle of the movie theater and saying “Oh no! It doesn’t happen like this in the book!”. Although the movie kiss is pretty great, it doesn’t compare to the moment described in the book, when Hermione throws herself into Ron’s arms after he voices his concern for the house elves, in the mist of all the fight and with a very aware Harry by their side!

Ron-and-Hermione-Deathly-Hallows-Part1-harry-potter-15280534-1350-939

“Hang on a moment!” said Ron sharply. “We’ve forgotten someone!”
“Who?” asked Hermione.
“The house-elves, they’ll all be down in the kitchen, won’t they?”
“You mean we ought to get them fighting?” asked Harry.
“No,” said Ron seriously, “I mean, we should tell them to get out. We don’t want any more Dobbies, do we? We can’t order them to die for us -”
There was a clatter as the basilisk fangs cascaded out of Hermione’s arms. Running at Ron, she flung them around his neck and kissed him full on the mouth. Ron threw away the fangs and broomstick he was holding and responded with such enthusiasm that he lifted Hermione off her feet.
“Is this the moment?” Harry asked weakly, and when nothing happened except that Ron and Hermione gripped each other still more firmly and swayed on the spot, he raised his voice. “OI! There’s a war going on here!”
Ron and Hermione broke apart, their arms still around each other.
“I know mate,” said Ron, who looked as though he had recently been hit on the back of the head with a bludger, “so its now or never, isn’t it?”

2. Tom Hansen & Summer Finn (Zooey Deschanel & Joseph Gordon-Levitt) – (500) Days of Summer

If you watched this movie, you know “This is a boy meets girl story. It is not a love story.“. And indeed, it isn’t! Tom is crazy in love with Summer and thinks she’s his life, but it turns out that she doesn’t feel quite the same way… it’s heartbreaking, but it’s a great movie and they are a happy couple while they last (which is not long, for most of the time he’s in love with her and she is not!). Zooey and Joseph have this crazy chemistry between them… amazing!

500_days_of_summer08

This is a story of boy meets girl. The boy, Tom Hansen of Margate, New Jersey, grew up believing that he’d never truly be happy until the day he met the one. This belief stemmed from early exposure to sad British pop music and a total mis-reading of the movie ‘The Graduate’. The girl, Summer Finn of Shinnecock, Michigan, did not share this belief. Since the disintegration of her parent’s marriage she’d only love two things. The first was her long dark hair. The second was how easily she could cut it off and not feel a thing. Tom meets Summer on January 8th. He knows almost immediately she is who he has been searching for. This is a story of boy meets girl, but you should know upfront, this is not a love story.

3. Juliet & Mark (Keira Knightley & Andrew Lincoln) – Love Actually

I know I’m cheating here, because Juliet was married to Mark’s best friend, and they were never a couple. He was in love with her and she loved his best friend. Still, they have one of my all time favorite on screen moments, when he professes his love for her…

loveactually

4. Elizabeth Swann & Will Turner (Keira Knightley & Orlando Bloom) – Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Even though she always flirted with Jack Sparrow, Elizabeth’s true love was always  Will. She chooses him over her family, becomes a pirate with him, marries him and waits 10 years for him to return while guarding his heart. That’s love!

one-day-honeymoon-will-and-elizabeth-turner-912696_1255_534

It’s always belonged to you. Will you keep it safe?

5. Tony Stark & Pepper Potts (Robert Downey Jr. & Gwyneth Paltrow) – Iron Man

How cute are they?! She starts out as his assistant and becomes the only woman he wants to change his ways for. She puts up with his crap and that’s not for anyone…

tumblr_maxote3lhQ1r261nxo1_1280

6. Gwen Stacy & Peter Parker (Emma Stone & Andrew Garfield) – The Amazing Spider-Man

Oh well, I know this one won’t last long… everyone knows that he’s meant to end up with MJ, but still, Emma and Andrew’s chemistry in this movie is crazy good (probably because, you know, it was happening in real life too… but still…)

gwen e peter - reproducao site oficial - poster

Don’t make promises you can’t keep, Mr. Parker.

Yeah, but those are the best kind.

7. Alice Cullen & Jasper Hale (Ashley Greene & Jackson Rathbone) & Edward Cullen & Bella Swan (Robert Pattinson & Kristen Stewart)- Twilight

When we talk about Twilight, our first thought always goes to Edward and Bella, because let’s face it, the whole story is about their love… don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge Twilight saga fan, so I think they are a great couple, one of the best in fact… but I chose to mention another Twilight couple, Alice and Jasper! Although they are the couple with least PDA through the whole series (books and movies), they’re also the most perfect! Edward and Bella are very nice as well…

bella edward alice jasper

Jasper was the first one I saw – he didn’t seem to see me at all. His eyes were only for Alice. She went quickly to his side; they didn’t embrace like other couples meeting there. They only stared into each other’s faces, yet, somehow, the moment was so private that I still felt the need to look away. (New Moon, chapter 22. Flight)

8. Will & Emma (Tom Sturridge & Rachel Bilson) – Waiting for Forever

They were best friends as kids, but then she grew up and he kind of didn’t… he always loved her, waited for her, sort of stalked her, …, but things came around when after he starts living his life, as his own, Emma goes looking for him. I highly recommend this movie, it’s so beautiful and sad at the same time…

waiting for forever

I’m imagining a day when I get up, and I know that I will not see you, because you’re far away. Okay, I will not see you, no chance, will not. And now, now I’m imagining a day when I get up and I know that I might see you. Okay might, could, maybe… Of those two days, that’s the day I want, that’s the day I choose.

9. Gigi & Alex (Ginnifer Goodwin & Justin Long) – He’s Just Not That Into You

She knows nothing about men and he tries to open her eyes and they become friends, but he becomes a bit more for her… until he realizes that she’s his exception too… ohhhh!!!! This movie has some great story lines  but this one just warms my heart!

he_s_just_not_that_into_you101

You’re my exception.

10. Charlie & Sam (Logan Lerman & Emma Watson) – The Perks of Being a Wallflower

If you haven’t seen this movie yet, shame on you! Charlie is a boy in love for the first time, with his best friend. Sam just doesn’t know what’s good for her…

perks-wallflower-1

I know who you are, Sam. I know I’m quiet… and, and I should speak more. But if you knew the things that were in my head most of the time, you’d know what I really meant. How, how much we’re alike and, and how we’ve been through things… and you’re not small. You’re beautiful.

11. Olive & Todd (Emma Stone & Penn Badgley) – Easy A

They know each other forever and she’s been in love with him since they were supposed to kiss in a game when they were pre-teens. After the whole school thinks she’s a slut, he never wavers, he believes in her and doesn’t care what everyone’s saying… they’re perfect! (but let me just say that the best about this movie are actually her parents!)

911160 - EASY A

 I might even lose my virginity to him. I don’t know when will it happen. You know, maybe in five minutes, or tonight, or sixth months from now, or maybe on the night of our wedding. But the really amazing this is, it is nobody’s goddamn business.

12. Harry Potter & Ginny Weasley (Daniel Radcliffe & Bonnie Wright) – Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Have I said how much I love the Harry Potter series?! No?! I really really love them!!! We all saw how Ginny was smitten by Harry since the very beginning, but for him she was just Ron’s little sister, until she’s not just that! After longing for Harry for a few years, Ginny starts to date and Harry is not very fond of that! Eventually, in year 6 (HP and the Half Blood Prince) they kiss in the common room after having just won the Quidditch Cup, with all their friends (and family) around! Of course in the movie things played out differently, with the kiss happening in the Room of Requirement, with no one in sight… After the final battle is done, they resume their relationship, eventually getting married and having three children.

Harry_and_Ginny

I never really gave up on you. Not really. I always hoped… Hermione told me to get on with life, maybe go out with some other people, relax a bit around you, because I never used to be able to talk if you were in the room, remember? And she thought you might take a bit more notice if I was a bit more — myself.

13. Dylan Harper & Jamie Rellis (Justin Timberlake & Mila Kunis) – Friends with Benefits

They start out with a casual sexual thing and end up being perfect for each other… he ends up professing his love for her through a flash mob in Grand Central Station!

Friends-with-Benefits-friends-with-benefits-movie-2011-26672414-1280-544

I messed up. I was scared. Look at what happened with my mom and dad? Of course I was scared. I…I ruined it. Everything that happens in the day, all I can think to myself is I can’t wait to tell Jamie about this. When I see someone cursing, all I picture is you blinking. And when I hear a kid’s been cured of cancer, I pray it’s not by that douchebag tree hugging, fucking doctor who ran out on you! I mean, cancer being cured is awesome. But you know, I wish someone else did it.

14. Anna Scott & William Thacker (Julia Roberts & Hugh Grant) – Notting Hill

This is a fantasy come true. American actress falls in love with a random, simple, British guy… They had a hard time, with all the paparazzi and stuff, but they managed to pull through.

tthBliTZNHnyBaB7gdWZRfuazr9

I’m also just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.

15. Tyler & Ally (Robert Pattinson & Emilie de Ravin) – Remember Me

Both so messed up and flawed. But are so cute together! If you’ve seen this, you know that it doesn’t end well… Basically the whole run “prepares” Ally to deal with Tyler’s tragic death… =/ (the ending of this movie truly shocked me, I wasn’t expecting that!).

???????????????????????

Whatever you do in life will be insignificant, but it’s very important that you do it. Because nobody else will. Like when someone comes into your life and half of you says you’re nowhere near ready, but the other half says: make her yours forever.

Bonus 16: Danny & Tess (George Clooney & Julia Roberts) – Ocean’s 11 & 12

One has to admire the lengths Danny goes to get his wife back! And he gets her 😉

julia_roberts_george_clooney_ocean's_eleven_001

You’re doing recon work on our anniversary?

There are some serious kick-ass couples missing from this list, from movies like Pretty Woman, Bridget Jones’s Diary, Gone with the Wind, Titanic, …, but different movies have different effects on different persons…

8 thoughts on “My Top 15 Movie Couples

  1. The Geek says:

    Somehow I stumbled on this really old post, but when I was reading it and saw Charlie and Sam at number 10, it really made me want to go watch Perks again, it’s such a great movie!!! And if you haven’t read the book, I would really recommend that too! I listened to the Audible version and it is absolutely amazing!

    Anyway, really enjoyed, I’ll have to go read more of your lists now!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.