Archer’s Voice (Mia Sheridan)

archersvoice

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.


This book broke me!

Wow, what a weird way to start a review, right? But it’s true! This book is beautiful but so so heartbreaking.

This was my first Mia Sheridan’s book, but I’ll make sure to read more from her, because Archer’s Voice won my heart completely. Like most New Adult romance novels, this book is told in dual POV, but yet it’s slightly different… Most chapters are told through Bree’s perspective, and some of Archer’s chapters are actually from the past, and those were probably the most heartbreaking ones. Did I mention yet how much this book broke my heart? I think I stopped breathing and my heart stopped at least 3 times during this novel! The writing is quiet, unassuming and yet brilliantly beautiful.

(Though I could have done with a few less “small smile”s… the repetition of the quality and size of the smiles was a bit too much…)

The characters totally make this story work. Bree had something terrible happening in her past, and she wished to escape it. She’s smart and kind and she SEES! Most importantly, she SEES Archer! Archer has been invisible for years, and that fact that Bree sees him and listen to him is everything.

Archer was just beautiful, and I’m not talking physically, though he was that too. Archer is a rare character in NA, because he’s completely innocent. He doesn’t understand the rules of society, he doesn’t know how to be friends or to behave with someone he likes, and yet, he’s a great person, so even when he fumbles and makes mistakes, his heart is so darn pure. Have I told you how my heart broke for this boy several times throughout the book? Yeah… so damn much…

I loved the story, the character growth, the slow burn of the romance, and how they both learned how to trust each other and they became better in the process. I loved that Bree allowed Archer to express himself, I loved that Archer learned that he was worth it. I just loved it!

It did made me tear up in public though… that ending was not fun… not fun at all!

People, if you love NA, go read this one, you won’t be sorry. And if you’ve read it, talk to me, because this story was so beautiful!!!!

24 thoughts on “Archer’s Voice (Mia Sheridan)

  1. Lois says:

    So I need this book in my hands. I don’t think I’ve heard a single bad thing about this book. I’m a sucker for a slow burn romance and I am so ready to follow Bree and Archer’s journey. 😀

  2. ravenblake99 says:

    Fantastic Review! I haven’t read any book from Mia Sheridan but I really want to especially Archer’s Voice cause lot of my friends has recommended this book and I’ve also heard that it was a beautiful book. I hope I’ll get to read it soon! 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.